DFW has several active geocaching groups. I wander freely among them as they post events which interest me. I officially belong to none but I am connected to many of these groups via Facebook. Most of the time, the posts are social posts (“good to see everyone at [name of last event]”) but occasionally someone posts something worth thinking about.

Cachemania is a blog referenced by a local geocacher. In today’s entry, the author posts a rant about the quality of logs left by geocachers, particularly newbie/noob geocachers. The comments provide the true grist for thought.

I hadn’t realized how much logs mean to those who place geocaches. After reading the comments, I went to check my most recent log posts. For the most part, I provide a brief description of more than 50 words. My shortest log post is, indeed, a critique of a poorly maintained cache: the log had been written over, the paper was damp, and the cache had been placed in an illegal spot (in an active electrical meter).

However, I don’t geocache alone. I have a partner-in-crime whom I trained. His logs were absurdly brief. As his mentor, I’ll talk to him about the brevity of his postings. As his teacher, I have the responsibility for showing him the “right” way to geocache and to show him how to avoid bad geocaching manners. In addition, I have to model good log posts: 50 words minimum, descriptions of my day, and details about my geocaching adventures.

About scribedscribbles

Like most people, I hate filling out profile pages. Who am I? Well, I’m a wife, teacher, daughter, and friend. I’m also an intellectual, an introvert, a night owl, and a bookworm. I work with struggling readers and overachievers, ages 11 to 15. I take care of students, a cat, two rabbits, friends, and my husband. I enjoy geocaching, reading, volksmarching, gardening, crocheting for charity, lecturing, science fiction, learning, and teaching. My favorite colors are blue, green, and purple. I am judgmental, dyslexic, sweet, overweight, graying, short, generous, loving, supportive, and chronically early to meetings. I’m afraid of snakes, putting my head underwater, heights, depths, and failure.

Leave a Reply

