One blog leads to another.

A comment of a recent blog  led me to Phinders Philosophy who has his own views on the qualities of a good geocache. He discusses the fun in finding a geocache (hide) in a place he was unaware existed and the satisfaction which comes from finding a cache which is cleverly hidden. I think he misses, though, my favorite aspects of geocaching.

I love being given a reason to explore the great outdoors. Computers, reading, crocheting, and housework provide sufficient reasons for remaining indoors. Geocaching provides me with an excuse to leave the comforts of home and to spend some time with nature.

I also enjoy learning. A good cache will lead me to new places or provide me with a puzzle to solve. A great cache will teach me something. The description will teach me about local history or perhaps provide insight into the mind of a fellow geocacher. A good cache will leave me feeling that my excuse for not doing housework was worthwhile.

About scribedscribbles

Like most people, I hate filling out profile pages. Who am I? Well, I’m a wife, teacher, daughter, and friend. I’m also an intellectual, an introvert, a night owl, and a bookworm. I work with struggling readers and overachievers, ages 11 to 15. I take care of students, a cat, two rabbits, friends, and my husband. I enjoy geocaching, reading, volksmarching, gardening, crocheting for charity, lecturing, science fiction, learning, and teaching. My favorite colors are blue, green, and purple. I am judgmental, dyslexic, sweet, overweight, graying, short, generous, loving, supportive, and chronically early to meetings. I’m afraid of snakes, putting my head underwater, heights, depths, and failure.

One response »

  1. Eddie says:

    Couldn’t help but visit after seeing the link to my post :)

    I couldn’t agree more actually about geocaching giving a reason for going outdoors. It’s actually how I started the ‘positive’ half of that piece: “After a long week it’s great to be able to break out of the routine and get out there.” – It’s funny that when my sister first heard about me geocaching she replied in her typically sarcastic way – “Sounds nerdish”.. And I got quite angry because while it uses computers and technology, the part we love the most about it is that it gets us outside and exploring.

    The learning stuff too is true and I’m glad you raised that – Geocaching has forced me to do stuff I’d never do, like relearn quadratic equations, discover stuff about geology for an earthcache, or learn about our local history.

    Great points you’ve raised there… And I love your final line :)

Leave a Reply

