I’ve been interested in geocaching for a while now, at least since last summer (friends remember me trying to get some of them to join up). What could be more fun than a scavenger hunt for grown-up tech geeks? Unfortunately, they didn’t have the right spirit (or were overburdened by allergies).

At that time, I was held back by three things: ignorance, poverty, and lack of a GPS unit. While I could gain knowledge by joining Geocaching, it was hard to overcome the other two barriers.

Then Texas State Parks announced a geocache challenge. Then DEN announced Geocaching Day. DEN would even support Geocaching Day with two webinars as well as the links to information/inspiration. Heck! DEN would even provide bribes lunch for those who chose to participate!

Obviously God had a purpose for me: spreading the word on geocaching.

Saturday I bought my first GPS unit, a Garmin V, then I registered to be a DEN guide.  I spent Sunday learning how to program my unit. I began Monday with recruiting efforts.

I have my first recruit!

About scribedscribbles

Like most people, I hate filling out profile pages. Who am I? Well, I’m a wife, teacher, daughter, and friend. I’m also an intellectual, an introvert, a night owl, and a bookworm. I work with struggling readers and overachievers, ages 11 to 15. I take care of students, a cat, two rabbits, friends, and my husband. I enjoy geocaching, reading, volksmarching, gardening, crocheting for charity, lecturing, science fiction, learning, and teaching. My favorite colors are blue, green, and purple. I am judgmental, dyslexic, sweet, overweight, graying, short, generous, loving, supportive, and chronically early to meetings. I’m afraid of snakes, putting my head underwater, heights, depths, and failure.

One response »

  1. Lyne says:

    I think this is wonderful I truly appreciate the information shared in this post I am going to bookmark this!

Leave a comment