When I went to the DEN Spring Conference, Google Docs was mentioned but I knew absolutely nothing about it so it was ignored.

Looking at the DEN Geocaching Blog page, I saw many people were using Google Docs but I still didn’t know anything about them. I looked at their links and marveled at the possibilities but how do I get started? Color me clueless.

Porter briefly mentioned in an e-mail Google Docs. Then one of my potential teammates mentioned it.

Something/someone was pushing me towards Google Docs.

So this morning I bit the bullet and created my first Google Doc: registration for my geocaching day team event.

Since I used a template and frequently reviewed what others had posted for their registration pages, it was easy. It’s even easier than using Moodle! Sure, I had a minor flub but it was easily corrected with some intrepid button-pushing. (I’m so George Jetson!)

Unlike Moodle, Google Docs is not limited to a few people/students. Now… how can I incorporate Google Docs into my life?

About scribedscribbles

Like most people, I hate filling out profile pages. Who am I? Well, I’m a wife, teacher, daughter, and friend. I’m also an intellectual, an introvert, a night owl, and a bookworm. I work with struggling readers and overachievers, ages 11 to 15. I take care of students, a cat, two rabbits, friends, and my husband. I enjoy geocaching, reading, volksmarching, gardening, crocheting for charity, lecturing, science fiction, learning, and teaching. My favorite colors are blue, green, and purple. I am judgmental, dyslexic, sweet, overweight, graying, short, generous, loving, supportive, and chronically early to meetings. I’m afraid of snakes, putting my head underwater, heights, depths, and failure.

13 responses »

  1. Wendy says:

    Thanks for a great post and interesting comments. I found this post while surfing the web for Thanks for sharing this article.
    I hope you found what you wanted or needed. I write about what I know and what I’m learning. I appreciate the feedback!–Laura

  2. Frieling says:

    Hey, maybe this is a bit offf topic but in any case, I have been surfing about your blog and it looks really neat. impassioned about your writing. I am creating a new blog and hard-pressed to make it appear great, and supply excellent articles. I have discovered a lot on your site and I look forward to additional updates and will be back.

  3. Grossley says:

    Only want to say your article is astonishing. The lucidity in your post is simply spectacular and I can take for granted you are an expert on this subject. Well with your permission allow me to grab your rss feed to keep up to date with succeeding post. Thanks a million and please keep up the good work.

    Thank you for the kind words but I have the feeling you are spam. But you know what? Every so often I need a pick-me-up so I’m keeping the comment. Even a spam pat-on-the-back is better than nothing! 🙂 –Laura

  4. Boyle says:

    Hello, my group is just establishing our first website, searching and working out what is needed. This blog stuck out right away. I’m fired up about this, and adore the design of your site. Are you able to let me know what “theme” it is?

    This is a free WordPress Theme from semlaguna designed by Ed Canape. The design is called SL-LadyBug. –Laura

  5. Grapes says:

    Good day is Blogengine a free blogging software like wordpress? Also does it have lots of plugins and themes for it? I would like to start using it for my new blog if it does. Thanks…

    I don’t know. I’m an absolute beginner when it comes to blogging.–Laura

  6. vertu says:

    Super-Duper site! I am loving it!! Will come back again – taking you feeds also, Thanks.

    Thanks for the compliments! Keep’em coming! 🙂

  7. Leon Berger says:

    If you don’t mind me asking I just wanted to get the scoop on what is the difference between blogenenigne and wordpress blogs? Is it easier to use or more efficient? I amseeing a lot of blogs powered by this software popping up lately and wondering if it is better or not? Thanks…

    I have no idea what the difference is. I haven’t compared. — Laura

  8. Eckard says:

    Yes you learn more while you share your knowledge with others. . . . . .

  9. Jewel says:

    Heard about this site from my friend. He pointed me here and told me I’d find what I need. He was right! I got all the questions I had, answered. Didn’t even take long to find it. Love the fact that you made it so easy for people like me.

    Well, I figure that this didn’t really come from a person but, hey! It’s another pat on the back! — Laura

  10. Lea says:

    I have been surfing online more than three hours today, yet I never found any interesting article like yours. It’s pretty worth enough for me. In my opinion, if all webmasters and bloggers made good content as you did, the internet will be much more useful than ever before.

  11. konsultan seo says:

    Very nice and helpful information has been given in this article. I like the way you explain the things. Keep posting. Thanks. . .

  12. Tinnerello says:

    Heard about this site from my friend. He pointed me here and told me I’d find what I need. He was right! I got all the questions I had, answered. Didn’t even take long to find it. Love the fact that you made it so easy for people like me.

  13. Wahlen says:

    Good luck getting people behind this one.  Though you make some VERY fascinating points, youre going to have to do more than bring up a few things that may be different than what weve already heard.  What are trying to say here?  What do you want us to think?  It seems like you cant really get behind a unique thought.  Anyway, thats just my opinion.

    You’ve left me with many questions. Good luck getting people behind what? What have you heard? What’s your opinion? I just don’t understand your comments. Maybe someone can explain it to me.– Laura

Leave a Reply

