‘Tis the night before Geocaching Day 2010…

Hmmmm… that doesn’t quite scan right.

I’m a bit intimidated. My team is considerably more experienced at geocaching than I. They have premium memberships on geocaching.com, not the freebie membership I have. Randy has logged in over 3000 finds; tomorrow I hope to log in my first. Randy has a new GPS unit; mine is almost 10 years old. Randy and Kathy are both techies; I’m a language arts teacher. Randy and Kathy have worked together as a geocaching team and they know each other’s habits; I don’t think I’ve ever met either of them even though we teach in the same district at the same level (middle school).

Randy spent the day creating waypoints and tracks and routes (what do all these terms really mean?)  and then put them in a file which was uploaded to his Blackberry. He kindly sent me the information on caches for tomorrow (102 in the general region of Cedar Hill State Park).

I had to use GPSBabel (free from geocaching.com) to translate the data into a form that my Garmin V could read. The end result is that all that information is in now my GPS unit.

It took less than 3 minutes to get the information in the unit after all the downloading and uploading of files and data. It took me an hour to figure it all out with double-checking.

The technical learning curve has been high. Please don’t let me fall on my face too hard!

About scribedscribbles

Like most people, I hate filling out profile pages. Who am I? Well, I’m a wife, teacher, daughter, and friend. I’m also an intellectual, an introvert, a night owl, and a bookworm. I work with struggling readers and overachievers, ages 11 to 15. I take care of students, a cat, two rabbits, friends, and my husband. I enjoy geocaching, reading, volksmarching, gardening, crocheting for charity, lecturing, science fiction, learning, and teaching. My favorite colors are blue, green, and purple. I am judgmental, dyslexic, sweet, overweight, graying, short, generous, loving, supportive, and chronically early to meetings. I’m afraid of snakes, putting my head underwater, heights, depths, and failure.

One response »

  1. Katy Linsky says:

    Congratulations on fighting through the learning curve. I did this with my family one time, but haven’t done it since. I think after reading this, I’m going to take some time to check out geocaching.com. I hope your day went well!

    Geocaching Day was a challenge and I’m still buzzed about it. I feel as if I learned a lot and as if I’ve accomplished a great deal. There’s more, though, to learn. Isn’t there always?

    I’ll be working next on ways to integrate geocaching into the curriculum. We probably wouldn’t be looking at geocaching in a state park; we’ll be looking at urban geocaching which is a sport within itself.

Leave a Reply

