Forecast: 91 degrees F; overcast turning sunny later in the day

It was not a good morning.

I woke up early (I always do when I’m nervous) with my mind racing on what I needed to do for that day. Did I have everything?

Clothing:

  • jeans (necessity)
  • Discovery t-shirt with a tank top underneath (in case it got too warm for a t-shirt)
  • hiking boots (Should I wear a double pair of socks? I haven’t hiked in ages.)
  • undies (none of your business!)

Gear:

  • GPS
  • spare batteries
  • water bottle (courtesy of Discovery Education)
  • Off!
  • maps of park
  • map to park (I don’t trust my GPS skills to guide me anywhere important yet)
  • information about lunch
  • Discovery Geocaching Day package (unopened)
  • box with sharpened pencils and swag (rubber bracelets from school)
  • charged cellphone with numbers of teammates plugged in already
  • extra $40 (just in case)
  • credit/debit card (just in case)
  • camera

I wasn’t taking a purse with me. When out in a state park, travel as lightly as possible.

I gave myself an hour and a half to get there. I had to get gas and put some power steering fluid in my car.

The gas pumps weren’t working at the first place I tried. My debit card wouldn’t read at the second place. I used over 20 minutes trying to get my car fueled. It took me another 10 minutes to get breakfast. Still I had an hour of travel time and the park was closer than I thought it would be.

I forgot to figure in the time spent waiting in line to get into the state park. Lucky me. I got in behind a boat. As I entered the park at 9:15, a sign read “Trails closed due to wet conditions.” Would this affect my day?

About scribedscribbles

Like most people, I hate filling out profile pages. Who am I? Well, I’m a wife, teacher, daughter, and friend. I’m also an intellectual, an introvert, a night owl, and a bookworm. I work with struggling readers and overachievers, ages 11 to 15. I take care of students, a cat, two rabbits, friends, and my husband. I enjoy geocaching, reading, volksmarching, gardening, crocheting for charity, lecturing, science fiction, learning, and teaching. My favorite colors are blue, green, and purple. I am judgmental, dyslexic, sweet, overweight, graying, short, generous, loving, supportive, and chronically early to meetings. I’m afraid of snakes, putting my head underwater, heights, depths, and failure.

6 responses »

  1. Bradford Kimbrow says:

    This is very intresting, You are a very skilled blogger. I have joined your feed and look forward to seeking more of your great post.
    <em>Thanks for joining my feed and for the compliments! I hope you continue to enjoy my writing. –Laura</em>

  2. Moshe Keels says:

    You are a Very Skilled Blogger, You either have first hand knowledge of what your talking about or you did some great research. Thanks for this wonderful post.
    <em>Thanks for the compliment! I definitely have first-hand knowledge. I’m one of those people who learns as they go.–Laura</em>

  3. Blackie says:

    A very interesting read and a great post alltogether. Would you mind if I posted the same article on my blog (with a reference to your website)?

    No problemo! –Laura

  4. Still can’t believe how much fun this turned out to be! If you haven’t gotten your family out for geocaching you are missing out on a wonderful opportunity to get the young ones outside and away from the video games.

    • Laura says:

      It was a blast! This Saturday is the 2011 DEN Geocaching Day. I already have 7 teachers lined up to learn how to geocache. Afterwards, we’ll be getting together for lunch to debrief and discuss using geocaching in the classroom and to get kids moving.

    • Laura says:

      Geocaching is loads of fun. You’re right about getting the kids away from video games. It’s a real life game!

Leave a Reply

