Penn Farm InformationIt was 9:30AM and my teammates had not arrived. They were stuck at the gate, waiting to pay their way in. I waited at Penn Farm.

After tightening my hiking boots (loose hiking boots lead to blisters), I opened the Discovery Education Geocaching Box. Inside were brochures, six trackable geocaching coins, and recycling bags.

Randy stepped out of his pick-up, GPS unit and Blackberry at the ready. The nearest cache was only 40 feet away. This microcache consisted of a bison tube (about the size of the knuckle of a pinkie) which had last been found a month ago. It had been DNFed (Did Not Find) ten times in the last year.

We hunted and hunted, braving many stands of poison ivy but were unable to find it. My first cache was going  to be my first DNF. It was 10:05 and time to head on to the second cache.

About scribedscribbles

Like most people, I hate filling out profile pages. Who am I? Well, I’m a wife, teacher, daughter, and friend. I’m also an intellectual, an introvert, a night owl, and a bookworm. I work with struggling readers and overachievers, ages 11 to 15. I take care of students, a cat, two rabbits, friends, and my husband. I enjoy geocaching, reading, volksmarching, gardening, crocheting for charity, lecturing, science fiction, learning, and teaching. My favorite colors are blue, green, and purple. I am judgmental, dyslexic, sweet, overweight, graying, short, generous, loving, supportive, and chronically early to meetings. I’m afraid of snakes, putting my head underwater, heights, depths, and failure.

Leave a Reply

