In my opinion, sticking to the larger, traditional caches seemed like a good idea to a beginner like me. I was beginning to get the hang of how to read my GPS unit but I still lacked confidence.

The third cache was located on the other side of the parking lot from our second cache’s location. (The ability to find the nearest waypoint/cache is truly a good thing in geocaching.) According to our GPS units, it was 430 feet away from the pick-up and it was  a skirt cache.

A skirt cache, according to my learned friends, means that you have to raise something in order to find the cache, like raising a skirt. Skirt caches had been en vogue a couple of years ago and this was an older cache under new management.

To get to this cache, we endured passing through spider webs (Randy was really good at finding spider webs with his face or open mouth), stepping over and on briar branches, whacking each other in the faces with tree limbs when we walked too close to each other, and stepping through a really muddy animal trail with many pawprints etched deeply in the path (our bootprints have been left for posterity).

We found the cache, a camouflaged Crystal Lite container, deep under a cedar tree. My teammates urged me to look for it so I can begin developing an eye for camo’ed containers.

While everyone was logging their finds, I found a milkweed bush. On the milkweed bush were probably a dozen caterpillars preparing to become monarch butterflies.Future Monarch Butterfly

About scribedscribbles

Like most people, I hate filling out profile pages. Who am I? Well, I’m a wife, teacher, daughter, and friend. I’m also an intellectual, an introvert, a night owl, and a bookworm. I work with struggling readers and overachievers, ages 11 to 15. I take care of students, a cat, two rabbits, friends, and my husband. I enjoy geocaching, reading, volksmarching, gardening, crocheting for charity, lecturing, science fiction, learning, and teaching. My favorite colors are blue, green, and purple. I am judgmental, dyslexic, sweet, overweight, graying, short, generous, loving, supportive, and chronically early to meetings. I’m afraid of snakes, putting my head underwater, heights, depths, and failure.

One response »

  1. Fidela Siaperas says:

    This is a interesting post.

    Thanks!–Laura

Leave a Reply

