Forecast: high of 100 degrees, sunny, breezy

Current temperature: 85 degrees

 I woke up this morning determined to do some geocaching. I haven’t done any since I went out with Scrudder and Gramakitty and I need to brush up on my skills.

 Two nights ago, my husband updated my mapping software. Last night, I downloaded the caches I’m interested in. Although today was predicted to be hot, it would be relatively cool if I worked in the morning.

 First order of business, warm up the GPS as I get breakfast at the Burger King drive-thru.

 Whoops! What do you mean the battery is low? I just changed those batteries!

 Okay, the new first order of business, stop off at 7-11 and buy new AA batteries and then go to Burger King.

 After successfully inserting the new batteries, warming up the GPS unit, and eating breakfast, I was ready for the adventure to begin. I drove to my old stomping grounds: Centerport, near DFW airport, at Trinity and Amon Carter.

 The first cache I wanted was Sovereign Road. I’d looked at the logs and it should have been easy, even if it was a microcache. A couple of the logs had warned of difficulties during rainy season but it’s been relatively dry lately (we’re almost in a drought). I found the spot. I’m even sure I found the right spot but I couldn’t find the microcache.

 I almost gave up right then. While pulling up Sovereign Road on my GPS unit,  I learned that my maps hadn’t uploaded. The low batteries must have prevented it. All I saw was a white screen, a black triangle marking my position, and a line marking the relative position of the cache.

 Still the next cache, Light at the End of the Street looked promising. Rather than being micro, it was merely small. Everyone’s logs said it was easy. Maybe it was even easy enough for me!

 It was!

 Feeling better about my geocaching skills, I decided to go for the third cache on my list, Shady Walk. I had lived in this area from 1993-2001. I remember when they laid in the sidewalks and staked the oak saplings. Now those oak saplings were tall enough to provide shade and to hide some caches. If those trees grow much more, though, those caches will only be available to taller folk!

 All right, let’s try Sovereign Road one more time! No luck.

 Oh, well! I found two out of three which was my goal for today anyway. And I’d found them in less than an hour. Not a bad beginning for a hot Sunday!

About scribedscribbles

Like most people, I hate filling out profile pages. Who am I? Well, I’m a wife, teacher, daughter, and friend. I’m also an intellectual, an introvert, a night owl, and a bookworm. I work with struggling readers and overachievers, ages 11 to 15. I take care of students, a cat, two rabbits, friends, and my husband. I enjoy geocaching, reading, volksmarching, gardening, crocheting for charity, lecturing, science fiction, learning, and teaching. My favorite colors are blue, green, and purple. I am judgmental, dyslexic, sweet, overweight, graying, short, generous, loving, supportive, and chronically early to meetings. I’m afraid of snakes, putting my head underwater, heights, depths, and failure.

5 responses »

  1. Kasha Sanzo says:

    Gives thanks for this particular content, I will add this website to my personal rss feeds, a friend just told me concerning this the other day. this is the greatest

  2. Herve Leger says:

    Well this is very interesting indeed. Would love to read a little more of this. Great post. Thanks for the heads-up

  3. Jack Chen says:

    Have a fantastic day! i like this article

  4. pozycjonowanie google says:

    Nice site and great text.

  5. Julee Villanvera says:

    I found this information interesting.

    Thank you! I found that day to be interesting. –Laura

Leave a Reply

