One of the most popular urban caches is the lamppost cache. I’ve even seen some geocachers lament “Another Lammpost!?!” Until I began caching in town, I hadn’t realized how ubiquitous city lighting is.

Although most lamppost caches are skirt caches, not all skirt caches are lamppost caches. My first skirt cache was when I geocached in Cedar Hill State Park.

Skirt and Lamppost with GPSA lamppost cache is usually a cache hidden in the metal box used to hide the bolts and screws of the lamppost from the general public. To get at a lamppost cache, you have to lift the metal box. There’s plenty of space underneath the metal box to hide a small cache (in my experience, usually film cannisters).

A skirt cache is a cache which a geocacher gets to by lifting something. Imagine someone raising a skirt to get at the treasure hidden underneath. When I geocached in Cedar Hill State Park, I had to raise several low-growing branches of a cedar tree to get at the camoflauged tennis ball cannister hidden near the trunk of the tree.

Lamppost caches are perfect for newbies in cities; they’re everywhere. They’re good for rainy days; sometimes you don’t even need to leave your car. They’re also perfect for when you’re feeling down after a series of DNFs; they’re an easy find.

About scribedscribbles

Like most people, I hate filling out profile pages. Who am I? Well, I’m a wife, teacher, daughter, and friend. I’m also an intellectual, an introvert, a night owl, and a bookworm. I work with struggling readers and overachievers, ages 11 to 15. I take care of students, a cat, two rabbits, friends, and my husband. I enjoy geocaching, reading, volksmarching, gardening, crocheting for charity, lecturing, science fiction, learning, and teaching. My favorite colors are blue, green, and purple. I am judgmental, dyslexic, sweet, overweight, graying, short, generous, loving, supportive, and chronically early to meetings. I’m afraid of snakes, putting my head underwater, heights, depths, and failure.

2 responses »

  1. […] length of the log, in my opinion, ought to reflect the thought placed into the placement. Skirt caches might only rate a TFTC but a rating of 3 or higher ought to be more detailed. The placers of these […]

  2. […] Hot dog! The cache is 50 feet behind me…. and it’s a skirt cache! […]

Leave a Reply

