I had been running errands all morning. I hadn’t eaten breakfast. I was hungry. Lo and behold! A Schlotzsky’s!

As I waited in the drive-thru line, I pulled out my iPhone and pulled up the Geocaching App. Where was the closest geocache?

Over the horizon, the skies were darkening with the incoming storms. The wind gusts had gotten stronger over the past couple of hours. I might not have many opportunities to geocache this weekend. Where was the nearest geocache?

274 feet!?!

I got my order and then parked the car in the lot next door. Now I was only 22 feet away!

I looked at the description of the cache.

Please be respectful of this area.  Parking within 1 foot.  You are looking for a small round Tupperware container covered in black electrical tape.

The Original Texas Christmas Box Angel*

cbangelbig.jpg (199249 bytes)

Thank you to the McDoodles for allowing us to adopt this cache.  This monument means a lot to our family and we appreciate the opportunity to share a bit of our heart with others.  Since the death of our oldest son in 1996 we have made it one of our missions to reach out to other grieving parents.  Initially we began with a simple website telling the story of our own personal loss (A Treasure In Heaven).  Over the years the site has grown to include much more than our story as we’ve tried to not only offer comfort to the bereaved but to also educate others in how to help their friends and family who may be dealing with the loss of a child.

Our website got the attention of a group known as SHARE of the Mid-cities.  We received a formal invitation to attend the angel’s dedication both in 1999 and the rededication in 2000.  Many were invited to this special event, among those were former President Bush and First Lady Barbara Bush.  The Bush’s daughter, Robin, is memorialized at this location with two bricks inscribed in her honor.

Origin of the angel……

In the best-seller book, The Christmas Box, author Richard Paul Evans tells the touching story of a young family that moves in with a very special widow.  In the book, the widow grieves the loss of her only child at an angel monument in an unnamed cemetery.  We were given a copy of this book shortly following the loss of our son and we have treasured it ever since.

The original statue, located in Salt Lake City was destroyed by natural forces.  Being made aware that many grieving parents sought out the statue as a place to grieve and heal, Mr. Evans commissioned a new statue which was dedicated in 1994.

For more information please visit Richard Paul Evans Angel Statue


Rededication…
October 6, 2000

The guest speaker was the author of The Christmas Box, Richard Paul Evans.  We had the privilege of meeting Mr. Evans after the reception.  We now have several autographed copies of his book and are thankful for the opportunity to be a part of these events.

SHARE of the Mid-cities holds an annual “Walk to Remember” that ends at the Angel every year.  It’s a special time for families to remember their loved ones.

* In February 2002 permission was given to Share of the Mid-Cities to use the title “The Original Texas Christmas Box Angel” for the angel located in Remembrance Park, Campus of Harris Methodist HEB Hospital, Bedford, Texas.

I was more curious now about the memorial than the cache now. It’s a beautiful area with plantings, trees, angels, crosses, statues, memorials, and benches. Even though construction is happening less than 300 feet away and the highway is less than 500 feet away, all I could hear was the wind in the trees along with the occasional honk of an unhappy motorist.

This is one of the reasons I geocache: to learn about the hidden treasures in my own neighborhood. I have been picking up food at this Schlotzky’s for over a decade and this was the first time I’d ever seen this lovely shrine.

About scribedscribbles

Like most people, I hate filling out profile pages. Who am I? Well, I’m a wife, teacher, daughter, and friend. I’m also an intellectual, an introvert, a night owl, and a bookworm. I work with struggling readers and overachievers, ages 11 to 15. I take care of students, a cat, two rabbits, friends, and my husband. I enjoy geocaching, reading, volksmarching, gardening, crocheting for charity, lecturing, science fiction, learning, and teaching. My favorite colors are blue, green, and purple. I am judgmental, dyslexic, sweet, overweight, graying, short, generous, loving, supportive, and chronically early to meetings. I’m afraid of snakes, putting my head underwater, heights, depths, and failure.

Leave a Reply

