Events encompass the social aspect of geocaching. Geocachers get together to trade travel bugs and exchange tall tales. Experienced geocachers pass on their pearls of wisdom to newbies and everyone compares GPS units. Every level of geocacher is welcome; food is often involved.

Once an event reaches critical mass (500 geocachers), it becomes a mega event. Once an annual event reaches mega event status, it will always be rated as a mega event.

Both events and mega events are posted on Geocaching.com. To find them, look on your profile page and look at the column on the left. Under “Search Options”, select “List Newest in — ” (in my case, Texas). The events icon looks like a speech bubble. Check the distance from you before signing up for an event; I get events from over 200 miles away because they’re all in Texas. The events are listed according to date; events occurring “later” will be at the top of the list.

The Texas Annual Challenge reached mega status in January. Despite the dreary weather, over 800 geocachers attended the event at Lake Ray Roberts State Park.

About scribedscribbles

Like most people, I hate filling out profile pages. Who am I? Well, I’m a wife, teacher, daughter, and friend. I’m also an intellectual, an introvert, a night owl, and a bookworm. I work with struggling readers and overachievers, ages 11 to 15. I take care of students, a cat, two rabbits, friends, and my husband. I enjoy geocaching, reading, volksmarching, gardening, crocheting for charity, lecturing, science fiction, learning, and teaching. My favorite colors are blue, green, and purple. I am judgmental, dyslexic, sweet, overweight, graying, short, generous, loving, supportive, and chronically early to meetings. I’m afraid of snakes, putting my head underwater, heights, depths, and failure.

Leave a Reply

