Everyone has heard of Roswell and the crash. The “weather balloon” was brought to Fort Worth for investigation bringing the Metroplex into the story.

Few people, though, remember the Aurora crash. According to local folklore, a spaceship crashed in Aurora, TX, just a few miles from Fort Worth. The incident was reported in the Dallas newspaper. The pilot of the alien spacecraft was buried in the Aurora cemetery in 1896.

Two years ago, I learned of a geocaching series which highlights the cemetery where the alien is buried and the actual crash site. I thought Aurora was farther away than it really was so I never made the trip.

On Friday, I found myself with some free time and a tank full of gas. I decided I was going to explore the legend of the Aurora crash. As an added bonus, while seeking our lunch, Sweetieheart and I happened upon a working Galaga game.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About scribedscribbles

Like most people, I hate filling out profile pages. Who am I? Well, I’m a wife, teacher, daughter, and friend. I’m also an intellectual, an introvert, a night owl, and a bookworm. I work with struggling readers and overachievers, ages 11 to 15. I take care of students, a cat, two rabbits, friends, and my husband. I enjoy geocaching, reading, volksmarching, gardening, crocheting for charity, lecturing, science fiction, learning, and teaching. My favorite colors are blue, green, and purple. I am judgmental, dyslexic, sweet, overweight, graying, short, generous, loving, supportive, and chronically early to meetings. I’m afraid of snakes, putting my head underwater, heights, depths, and failure.

Leave a Reply

