I told a new online friend that I was into crocheting for charity, gardening, geocaching, and volksmarching. She understood the first two hobbies but consulted her computer for the last two.

“So you’re into hunting for things and walking a long ways?”

It’s beautiful to me how my hobbiese can blend. I can go on long walks, enjoy nature, and still use high-tech to find hidden treasures.

Over the last decade, I had slowly realized how divorced my life was from nature. I spend most of my time indoors. There are days when I don’t see the sun. Gardening, geocaching, and volksmarching force me to participate in the great outdoors. (So do my blogs; I have to have something to write about, don’t I?)

School will be starting soon and I’ll be returning to my classroom without windows and days without sun. Before my return, I want to walk the three year-round walks provided by Irving’s StarTrekkers, the volksmarching club. I walked the historical walk last year. Maybe I’ll do it again. That still leaves me with the Valley Ranch walk and the Las Colinas walk.

With temperatures soaring into the 100s regularly now, I’ll need to plan ahead. I’ll need to wake early and pack water and sunscreen. I have two weeks. I can do it!

Seal of the Texas Volksmarching Association

Texas Volksmarching Association

About scribedscribbles

Like most people, I hate filling out profile pages. Who am I? Well, I’m a wife, teacher, daughter, and friend. I’m also an intellectual, an introvert, a night owl, and a bookworm. I work with struggling readers and overachievers, ages 11 to 15. I take care of students, a cat, two rabbits, friends, and my husband. I enjoy geocaching, reading, volksmarching, gardening, crocheting for charity, lecturing, science fiction, learning, and teaching. My favorite colors are blue, green, and purple. I am judgmental, dyslexic, sweet, overweight, graying, short, generous, loving, supportive, and chronically early to meetings. I’m afraid of snakes, putting my head underwater, heights, depths, and failure.

Leave a Reply

