I have a toothache. Instead of doing my normal routine, I find myself somewhat confined. Isn’t it strange how one small insignificant pain can cause such widespread misery? In any case, I had a toothache and I didn’t feel like moving all that far from the couch so I took some time to work on a puzzle cache.

Symbol for a Mystery, or Puzzle, Cache

A Mystery, or Puzzle, Cache

I’m not good at puzzles or mysteries. I’m one of those readers who jumps to the end of the book to find out whodunit and then returns to the reading to find out how it was done. My husband, on the other hand, loves solving puzzles and, unlike me, he doesn’t cheat.

While surfing on the geocaching website, I’d come across some puzzle caches. Surely, in that lot of puzzles, I could find one to do. Surely, working on a puzzle cache would divert my mind from the dull, nagging coming from the back of my mouth.

Reader, it worked. I found a puzzle which involved chemistry. My husband was a chemistry minor in college. Together, we solved the puzzle involving ions and the periodic tables.

Inspired, I solved three more puzzles on my own. I cannot explain how proud of myself I felt. And I know my answers are right because I could check my answers at GeoChecker.com.

I have a dental appointment on Monday. With any luck, I’ll find the physical caches sometime soon. Only 9 caches to go until #200!

About scribedscribbles

Like most people, I hate filling out profile pages. Who am I? Well, I’m a wife, teacher, daughter, and friend. I’m also an intellectual, an introvert, a night owl, and a bookworm. I work with struggling readers and overachievers, ages 11 to 15. I take care of students, a cat, two rabbits, friends, and my husband. I enjoy geocaching, reading, volksmarching, gardening, crocheting for charity, lecturing, science fiction, learning, and teaching. My favorite colors are blue, green, and purple. I am judgmental, dyslexic, sweet, overweight, graying, short, generous, loving, supportive, and chronically early to meetings. I’m afraid of snakes, putting my head underwater, heights, depths, and failure.

2 responses »

  1. […] week I logged my fifth multi-stage cache. A multi-stage is similar to a mystery, or puzzle, cache. You don’t get the coordinates of the cache automatically. Instead, you get the coordinates […]

Leave a Reply

