Symbol for the Virtual, or Ghost, Cache

A Virtual, or Ghost, Cache

My mother had a heart attack in March.

I spent four days in her hospital room, leaving only when told by the doctors or when required to leave by nature. Three of those days matched my mood: cold, windy, rainy, miserable. One day was beautiful… and that was the day that my mother was allowed her first bath. Not allowed to return for three hours, I decided I needed to spend some time outside, appreciating life.

I went geocaching.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Did you know Amarillo is the helium capital of the world? I didn’t. If it weren’t for geocaching, I still wouldn’t know.

Alchemy Cache II: Lighter than Air is a fascinating cache. If you ever find yourself traveling Route 66 through Amarillo, I encourage you to find the Helium Monument. Science, history, math, nature, and logic all come together in one cache. Fascinating.

About scribedscribbles

Like most people, I hate filling out profile pages. Who am I? Well, I’m a wife, teacher, daughter, and friend. I’m also an intellectual, an introvert, a night owl, and a bookworm. I work with struggling readers and overachievers, ages 11 to 15. I take care of students, a cat, two rabbits, friends, and my husband. I enjoy geocaching, reading, volksmarching, gardening, crocheting for charity, lecturing, science fiction, learning, and teaching. My favorite colors are blue, green, and purple. I am judgmental, dyslexic, sweet, overweight, graying, short, generous, loving, supportive, and chronically early to meetings. I’m afraid of snakes, putting my head underwater, heights, depths, and failure.

Leave a Reply

