It’s Saturday. On Monday, I report back to the classroom.

It’s also Texas’ Tax-Free Weekend, the weekend when every parent in Texas shops for tax-free clothing and school clothing.

Before heading off to a CITO, I call my optometrist. By any chance, are my new glasses ready?

Yes!

Sweetieheart and I head off to the optometrist to pick up my new glasses, my first pair of trifocals. (That’s right! I’m old and blind.) But it’s too late to head to the CITO. We need to find a local cache.

Now we’re hungry. I’m craving tacos. We head over to The Gourmet Burrito but it’s already closed. A block away is a restaurant we haven’t tried before, The Buffalo Cantina featuring buffalo meat. It’s delicious.

Photo of Victor's Meal from Buffalo Cantina

Buffalo Fajitas

While waiting for our order, we use the geocaching app to find the nearest caches. Hmmmmm…. one by the 7-11; one by the Children’s Courtyard; one by the McDonald’s.

Photo of My Meal from Buffalo Cantina

Buffalo Tacos

Sweetieheart has a plan. He wants to do the one near 7-11 first. It’s .1 miles away. We head on over. We hunt and hunt and haven’t any luck. We read aome past logs. We notice a pattern: no one has ever found this cache in a group smaller than seven. Hmmmmmm… DNF (Did Not Find).

He wants to try the one next to the Children’s Courtyard next. We hunt without any luck. We’re getting discouraged. On other logs we read stuff like “easy P&G” (park and grab), “easy to see/find,” and “didn’t even need my GPS to find this one.” We can’t find it. Another DNF. 😦

The wind begins to pick up. To the south, the clouds are turning gray. What had been a beautiful summer day is evolving into a possible storm situation.

We drive to the McDonald’s. As Sweetieheart slumps out of the car, I check the logs: “easy P&G,” “find by feel,” and “tiny”. I read the posts to my partner-in-crime. “Got it!” he exclaims triumphantly, holding up a tiny nano.

Finally, we have earned our souvenir; we can now shop with clear consciences.

Image of Souvenir for Intrnational Geocaching Day 2012

International Geocaching Day 2012

About scribedscribbles

Like most people, I hate filling out profile pages. Who am I? Well, I’m a wife, teacher, daughter, and friend. I’m also an intellectual, an introvert, a night owl, and a bookworm. I work with struggling readers and overachievers, ages 11 to 15. I take care of students, a cat, two rabbits, friends, and my husband. I enjoy geocaching, reading, volksmarching, gardening, crocheting for charity, lecturing, science fiction, learning, and teaching. My favorite colors are blue, green, and purple. I am judgmental, dyslexic, sweet, overweight, graying, short, generous, loving, supportive, and chronically early to meetings. I’m afraid of snakes, putting my head underwater, heights, depths, and failure.

Leave a Reply

