It all started like this….

School (for teachers) would begin in less than a week. I had fewer than six days of freedom left. I had spent the last two weeks heavily medicated. What was going to be my big blow-out for the summer? I had it all planned out: Hurricane Harbor! This time I would not save money. I would buy a funnel cake. I would buy photos of me at Hurricane Harbor. I would buy a soft drink, regardless of whether or not I had the season pass glass. I would rent a tube and float around the Lazy River for hours at a time.

Then, it rained.

The rain hadn’t been forecast. Once it began, the meteorologists swore that it would be over soon. Sprinkles, really. Scattered showers, at best.

It rained all night and into the morning. We woke to temperatures in the 70s… in August! By noon, it had barely broken into the 80s… in August!

Obviously, it was too cold for a day at the water park. I needed a new plan, stat!

We hadn’t done any volksmarching this summer. It was not a million degrees outside. It was overcast so we wouldn’t even need hats or sunscreen! Perfect.

From one location in Irving, the Marriott, we could get directions for three different routes: 5k, 6k, or 10k. I wanted more than 5k and we’re not up to a 10k yet. (It’s our goal for 2012 to get fit enough for  a 10k.)

A Photo of Sweetieheart at the Starting Point

Victor at the Starting Point

Lake Carolyn is a man-made lake. It’s surrounded by a paved promenade, benches (many in the sun), carefully spaced trashcans, and overhead lighting for night walks. This is not a wheelchair-friendly route (lots of stairs), although it is a very dog-friendly walk.

Photo of Victor Overlooking Lake Carolyn

Victor Checks Out Lake Carolyn

Most of the walk involves keeping Lake Carolyn to the right of the walker. To get the full 6k, though, the walker has to leave the lake.

Photo of a Lake Worker Cleaning Lake Carolyn

Keeping Lake Carolyn Clean

Lake Carolyn is also boat-friendly. There are several places to berth boats and to tie up boats. As we crossed over one canal, Victor looked over the side and said, “It must be hard work keeping the entire lake clean with just one net.”

Photo: View of Gondolas

Gondolas: View 1

Another Photo of Gondolas

Gondolas: View 2

The Last Photo of Gondolas on Lake Carolyn

View 3 of Gondolas

Until we took this walk, I had no idea that there were gondolas available for rental. They have brief cruises by the hour and even special wedding packages where the vows are exchanged under a bridge so that friends and family can witness the vows from above. My 20th anniversary is coming up and I was looking for something special. Maybe Gondolas of Irving is the answer.

Photo of a Shaded Path along Lake Carolyn

The Shady Path of Lake Carolyn

About a third of the walk was shaded. There were apartments, condos, boutiques, and small cafes.

Photo of the Sunny Side of Lake Carolyn

Walk on the Bright Side of Life

Two thirds of the walk had virtually no shade. Benches were strewn along the path. Water fountains were noticeably absent. We eventually left the path of the volksmarch in order to buy water and Gatorade at the small market across the street.

Photo of the Lake Carolyn Train Station Accessway

Lake Carolyn Train Station Access

The Lake Carolyn Train Station Access marks the near completion of the walk. From here, there’s only one other marker: The Mustangs of Las Colinas.

Photo of the Mustangs of Las Colinas... and me

The Mustangs of Las Colinas

Three blocks later, we completed the 6k.

About scribedscribbles

Like most people, I hate filling out profile pages. Who am I? Well, I’m a wife, teacher, daughter, and friend. I’m also an intellectual, an introvert, a night owl, and a bookworm. I work with struggling readers and overachievers, ages 11 to 15. I take care of students, a cat, two rabbits, friends, and my husband. I enjoy geocaching, reading, volksmarching, gardening, crocheting for charity, lecturing, science fiction, learning, and teaching. My favorite colors are blue, green, and purple. I am judgmental, dyslexic, sweet, overweight, graying, short, generous, loving, supportive, and chronically early to meetings. I’m afraid of snakes, putting my head underwater, heights, depths, and failure.

Leave a Reply

