“Where are we going?” asked my blindfolded husband.

It was our anniversary and he was on his way to his gift: a two-hour massage. His blindfold was removed before he trotted off with the masseuse. I had to hours to spend. What would I do? Geocache!

You see, it’s November. For some strange reason, in the four years I’ve been geocaching, I have never logged a cache in November. I was going to break that streak as a gift to myself.

I pulled out my phone and pulled up my geocaching application. Lo and behold! There was one located only 184 feet away! There was a lamppost in the right general direction and the right general distance. Was it a skirt cache?

Traffic was relatively light for a Saturday evening and muggles were few and far between. I had to wait for one family to get into the pizza place next door before I raised the skirt of the lamppost. Nothing.

I checked the app again. No hints. The photographs indicated I was in the right place. What was I missing? Wait a minute! What does that cacher mean “neat twist on a skirt cache”?

I walked around the lamppost. What was a plug cover doing there?

I lifted the cover. Found it!

I logged my smiley. Were there any other caches in the area? The sun was setting but I could surely score another park-and-grab. Plus, I still had over 1.5 hours to kill before my husband was ready.

Oh, wait! Here’s one right across the street. Logs from earlier cachers indicate it was near the Subway. I drove across the five lanes of traffic, thankful that traffic was light.

It actually didn’t take me long to make my find. I logged it, uploading a photo of the sunset. It was too dark at this point to continue geocaching so I went to a Half-Price Books to wait out the rest of my husband’s massage. I was satisfied with my two finds for November.

Today I went to check my profile. I show only one find. What happened? Not only that but geocaching.com shows that only one cache is in the area. What? What happened to my Subway find?

I’m hunting for it now. I don’t know what happened to the find. I know I signed a log. I know I found it. I know I took a photo and uploaded it. Where did the cache go? Where’s my smiley? I have a mystery!

About scribedscribbles

Like most people, I hate filling out profile pages. Who am I? Well, I’m a wife, teacher, daughter, and friend. I’m also an intellectual, an introvert, a night owl, and a bookworm. I work with struggling readers and overachievers, ages 11 to 15. I take care of students, a cat, two rabbits, friends, and my husband. I enjoy geocaching, reading, volksmarching, gardening, crocheting for charity, lecturing, science fiction, learning, and teaching. My favorite colors are blue, green, and purple. I am judgmental, dyslexic, sweet, overweight, graying, short, generous, loving, supportive, and chronically early to meetings. I’m afraid of snakes, putting my head underwater, heights, depths, and failure.

Leave a Reply

