View of the Equinox Sculpture Arch

Equinox Sculpture Arch

As summer ended, I went on a geocaching adventure. Sweetieheart and I ran out of stamina once the temperatures hit the hundreds (again) and before I could get to an intriguing cache.

This site is very interesting to visit twice a year as it is an equinox sculpture. This large mass of metal “does something” twice a year on the spring and fall equinox, if the sun is out.

I marked it in my mind and, as school let out for the winter break and the Mayan Prophecy still hadn’t happened and I realized that I had a free day and 12/21/12 was the winter solstice, I decided I had to find the cache. After all, it was only about 15 miles from school and I was free! (Cue: “Free Falling“)

Photo of Equinox Sculpture Plaque

Equinox Sculpture Plaque

I must have been more tired than I thought. For some odd reason, I thought the equinox and the solstice were the same thing. It was a definite V-8 moment (knocking side of head with palm). But I logged the find anyway.

LAGEEK at the Equinox Sculpture on the Vernal Equinox

LAGEEK at the Equinox Sculpture

About scribedscribbles

Like most people, I hate filling out profile pages. Who am I? Well, I’m a wife, teacher, daughter, and friend. I’m also an intellectual, an introvert, a night owl, and a bookworm. I work with struggling readers and overachievers, ages 11 to 15. I take care of students, a cat, two rabbits, friends, and my husband. I enjoy geocaching, reading, volksmarching, gardening, crocheting for charity, lecturing, science fiction, learning, and teaching. My favorite colors are blue, green, and purple. I am judgmental, dyslexic, sweet, overweight, graying, short, generous, loving, supportive, and chronically early to meetings. I’m afraid of snakes, putting my head underwater, heights, depths, and failure.

Leave a Reply

