My father turned 66 on 12/12/12. In honor of the occasion, we held a family reunion in Alice, TX. Before we left town, I wanted to visit my grandparents’ grave.  It was a beautiful 68 degrees in December with clearing skies after some morning showers.

We had a few hours to kill before our flight from Corpus back to the Metroplex so we decided to do some geocaching. The closest geocache to our hotel was in the same cemetery where my grandparents are buried. Obviously, this, along with the lovely weather, was a sign.

I’d returned to Alice for Grandma’s death. I remembered that her grave was near the back of the cemetery, near the road, next to some trees. We drove around the small cemetery for almost 45 minutes looking for that grave. No luck. I was getting frustrated and we were beginning to get funny looks from families who’d found their family graves.

Finally, I gave up. “Let’s just get the cache,” I told Sweetieheart.

Looking at the recent logs, I learned that the last two cachers who’d looked hadn’t found the cache. It had been DNFed twice! “Let’s just go check it out anyways.” I just wanted out of the car before I stuffed myself into an airplane for four hours.

There’s a whole part of the cemetery not accessible by car. I hadn’t known this until we hunted for the cache. “How do they get to the graves?” I wondered aloud.

The hint said that the cache would be found in the middle of multiple tree trunks. There were three likely trees near the DZ. I took the one to the east while Sweetieheart hunted in the one to the north.

“I found it,” Sweetieheart announced.

“You’re kidding! It’s been DNFed twice!”

“Nope.” He found a nearby bench and signed the log.

Photo of Sweetieheart signing the log

Sweetieheart Signs the Log

We were .7 miles from the car. I could just barely see it between the mesquite and cedar trees. As we walked back, I told Sweetieheart I wasn’t quite ready to climb back in. Would it be all right if we walked around the cemetery and looked at graves? It’s a very colorful cemetery and families are active in maintaining it. He likes the cemetery as much as I do so he was fine with walking around.

Photo of Two Graves Prepared for Christmas

Ready for Christmas Graves

Halfway down the block, we found my grandparents’ grave. I was able to spend some time honoring their memories. Thank you to the geocacher who placed this cache! Because of you, I was reunited with my grandparents.

Photo of My Grandparents' Grave

My Grandparents’ Grave

About scribedscribbles

Like most people, I hate filling out profile pages. Who am I? Well, I’m a wife, teacher, daughter, and friend. I’m also an intellectual, an introvert, a night owl, and a bookworm. I work with struggling readers and overachievers, ages 11 to 15. I take care of students, a cat, two rabbits, friends, and my husband. I enjoy geocaching, reading, volksmarching, gardening, crocheting for charity, lecturing, science fiction, learning, and teaching. My favorite colors are blue, green, and purple. I am judgmental, dyslexic, sweet, overweight, graying, short, generous, loving, supportive, and chronically early to meetings. I’m afraid of snakes, putting my head underwater, heights, depths, and failure.

Leave a Reply

