Geocaching is an art!?!

Art in Blood

Skin Game Art

Ann Alan’s art is inspired by the blood her geocaching partner has bled in their quest to earn smileys.

To tell you the truth, I don’t “get”her art. I’m an urban geocacher. Blood, poison ivy, and visits to the doctor are not my goal. But I can appreciate those brave geocachers who aim high for those 5/5s. Me, I’m more of the 2/2 type.

I’m not ashamed of my 1/1s. Heck, those are some of my favorites. But there’s a 5/5 in Fort Worth I’d like to see someone else accomplish. Is Anne the same way? Does she prefer others to earn their blood and broken bones while she watches in relative safety?

Her partner attended the showing. He looks sane and relatively normal. Ann appears sane and relatively normal. She’s in charge of Fort Worth’s public art so she must be responsible. Still, art such as hers makes me wonder…..

About scribedscribbles

Like most people, I hate filling out profile pages. Who am I? Well, I’m a wife, teacher, daughter, and friend. I’m also an intellectual, an introvert, a night owl, and a bookworm. I work with struggling readers and overachievers, ages 11 to 15. I take care of students, a cat, two rabbits, friends, and my husband. I enjoy geocaching, reading, volksmarching, gardening, crocheting for charity, lecturing, science fiction, learning, and teaching. My favorite colors are blue, green, and purple. I am judgmental, dyslexic, sweet, overweight, graying, short, generous, loving, supportive, and chronically early to meetings. I’m afraid of snakes, putting my head underwater, heights, depths, and failure.

Leave a Reply

