Texas' Eiffel Tower

Texas’ Eiffel Tower

I promised my husband a trip to the most romantic town in Texas: Paris.

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express. As my husband checked us in, he asked the young clerk, “What’s there to do In Paris?”

“Nothing,” was the glum reply.

This isn’t really true. They have a nice movie theater, a bowling alley, a skating rink, and a couple of dance clubs she was probably too young to get into. Paris is probably a really good town to raise a family but it’s probably a really good town to escape from if you’re a young man or woman with big dreams.

I brought us to Paris for one reason alone: the Texas Eiffel Tower. The plaque indicated that the Eiffel Tower hadn’t been built until the 90s… which is funny because I thought it was much older. In any case, I figure we’ll probably never make it to the famous Paris with its Eiffel Tower way over across the Atlantic but I could do second best: the tallest Eiffel Tower in the United States. (Tennessee has a Paris, too. Their Paris also has a tower but Texas’ tower is taller due  to the cowboy hat.)

The trip to the Eiffel Tower was a two-fer. In addition to the romance of the location, the Eiffel Tower of Texas is a virtual, or ghost, cache.

No town is boring with geocaching to do.

About scribedscribbles

Like most people, I hate filling out profile pages. Who am I? Well, I’m a wife, teacher, daughter, and friend. I’m also an intellectual, an introvert, a night owl, and a bookworm. I work with struggling readers and overachievers, ages 11 to 15. I take care of students, a cat, two rabbits, friends, and my husband. I enjoy geocaching, reading, volksmarching, gardening, crocheting for charity, lecturing, science fiction, learning, and teaching. My favorite colors are blue, green, and purple. I am judgmental, dyslexic, sweet, overweight, graying, short, generous, loving, supportive, and chronically early to meetings. I’m afraid of snakes, putting my head underwater, heights, depths, and failure.

2 responses »

  1. OwlMcCloud says:

    Awesome post and amazing blog

Leave a Reply

