LaGeek at Scott Theater

LaGeek at Scott Theater

Once upon a time, when I was still in college, I worked at the Fort Worth Museum of Science and History running the afternoon planetarium shows. When I had the time, I’d grab a corny dog (the cheapest meat item on the menu at the museum cafe) and go exploring the other museums in Fort Worth’s Museum District. At that time, the Fort Worth Modern Art Museum was located right next door (now it’s down a couple of blocks).

When I taught kindergarten, I would bring my students to the Scott Theater for an annual field trip to expose the kindergartners to culture.

I thought I knew the area fairly well so I was surprised to find that the Scott Theater is haunted. I learned this when I went geocaching in the Museum District during Spring Break.

According to the cache description, two ghosts haunt the Scott Theater. The ghost of William Scott is supposed to enjoy straightening and moving paintings hung within the theater. The stage is supposed to be haunted by the lighting designer and actor, Ken Yandell.

Although I didn’t see any ghosts, i did see a painting of William Scott. I also found the cache hidden right there on museum grounds. I love that I learn more about local history while becoming a more cultured person… and it’s all because of geocaching.

FYI: This building next door (look for the cowboy mosaics) offers free parking, as long as you park for less than 45 minutes. The parking attendant, though, seemed a bit peeved …

Get free parking if you park for less than 45 minutes.

Free Parking?

About scribedscribbles

Like most people, I hate filling out profile pages. Who am I? Well, I’m a wife, teacher, daughter, and friend. I’m also an intellectual, an introvert, a night owl, and a bookworm. I work with struggling readers and overachievers, ages 11 to 15. I take care of students, a cat, two rabbits, friends, and my husband. I enjoy geocaching, reading, volksmarching, gardening, crocheting for charity, lecturing, science fiction, learning, and teaching. My favorite colors are blue, green, and purple. I am judgmental, dyslexic, sweet, overweight, graying, short, generous, loving, supportive, and chronically early to meetings. I’m afraid of snakes, putting my head underwater, heights, depths, and failure.

Leave a Reply

