LaGeek Eats Well

Good Eats!
Home Cookin’

I woke up this morning with a geocaching adventure in mind: caching out Ponder. Caching out is a term I invented. It means to find all the caches in an area.

Ponder, Texas, happens to be the home of Ranchman’s Ponder Steakhouse. When I first moved to the Metroplex, everyone said that I had to eat at Ranchman’s. It was a must. I only get out there once a decade or so but I love the homecooking. The chicken fried steak is actually steak. The homefries taste just like the fries my mom used to make. I have never gotten close to mimicking the tasty goodness of the cream gravy.

Ponder is a small town. Ranchman’s is on the square. Behind Ranchman’s is a tiny park dedicated to the historical small town. The windmill used to supply the townies with water. I think the small white building may have been the schoolhouse. And hidden within this park is one of the two caches of Ponder.

Ponder's Park

City Park in Ponder, TX

After returning the cache in its hiding place, Sweetieheart and I began our hunt for Ponder’s other cache, only .5 miles away.

We accidentally drove past the cache and had to turn around in a subdivision. Something must have been going on in the house on the corner: the sheriff’s car and two deputies’ cars were parked on the corner with their lights on. The officers were getting out of the cars but no guns were drawn. We carefully executed a legal turn and left the subdivision to hunt the cache.

My GPS unit had us looking at the wrong fence but common sense (hints: the cache is 15 feet from the road and viewable from the road) led us to the right spot. I had to get the cache because Sweetieheart is afraid of spiders. With this second find, we had cached out Ponder and our adventure was over.

About scribedscribbles

Like most people, I hate filling out profile pages. Who am I? Well, I’m a wife, teacher, daughter, and friend. I’m also an intellectual, an introvert, a night owl, and a bookworm. I work with struggling readers and overachievers, ages 11 to 15. I take care of students, a cat, two rabbits, friends, and my husband. I enjoy geocaching, reading, volksmarching, gardening, crocheting for charity, lecturing, science fiction, learning, and teaching. My favorite colors are blue, green, and purple. I am judgmental, dyslexic, sweet, overweight, graying, short, generous, loving, supportive, and chronically early to meetings. I’m afraid of snakes, putting my head underwater, heights, depths, and failure.

Leave a Reply

