It all began with the city turning off our water because of the recent rain.

To Do List for Today

  • Laundry No water seriously defeats laundry day.
  • Dishwashing See “Laundry”
  • Making tortillas for the week Flour inevitably leads to the need to wash up the counter.
  • Cooking beans We ran out of water before we could get the beans going.
  • Mowing the lawn No water for the post-mowing shower.

So, what does that leave Sweetieheart and me to do? Geocache.

We weren’t really prepared. We hadn’t had breakfast so we stopped off at Grandy’s to pick up something. We forgot sunscreen but the powerwalk for the Space Race was supposed to be shaded. (Each cache refers to some space achievement – learn while you cache!)

As it turns out, the walking trail will be shaded – in a few years. We found six geocaches, walked 2 miles up and down some nice hills with beautiful views, and collected soft stickers all over our pants, socks, and shoelaces. The majority of the 2-mile geocaching walk was spent on sidewalks although we had to bushwack to find three caches.

It also turned out to be 95 degrees albeit with a wonderful breeze. We had to call it quits when Sweetieheart began to sunburn (he’s very fair-skinned). It was a fun way to spend a waterless afternoon.

photo of lageek at the start of the space race

Beginning the Space Race

About scribedscribbles

Like most people, I hate filling out profile pages. Who am I? Well, I’m a wife, teacher, daughter, and friend. I’m also an intellectual, an introvert, a night owl, and a bookworm. I work with struggling readers and overachievers, ages 11 to 15. I take care of students, a cat, two rabbits, friends, and my husband. I enjoy geocaching, reading, volksmarching, gardening, crocheting for charity, lecturing, science fiction, learning, and teaching. My favorite colors are blue, green, and purple. I am judgmental, dyslexic, sweet, overweight, graying, short, generous, loving, supportive, and chronically early to meetings. I’m afraid of snakes, putting my head underwater, heights, depths, and failure.

Leave a Reply

