Did you know that peacocks roam freely in neighborhoods near White Rock Lake?

Neither did I.

The day was overcast and relatively cool (for June). Joggers, bicyclists, dog walkers, and volksmarchers followed the trails, muddy from recent rains. Our volksmarch began by walking under Northwest Highway, heading towards Flag Pole Hill.

lageek at Flag Pole Hill

Flag Pole Hill

Flag Pole Hill, according to our volksmarching map, is a product of CCC labors.

Flag Pole Hill

Flag Pole Hill

People who walk with me know that I’m not a fan of “up.” When it comes to walking, I prefer “down.” If, as the map noted, Flag Pole Hill is the highest point in Dallas County, why was there further hill to climb in order to follow our map? These are the type of questions I mulled over as I walked up another hill from the parking lot at the flag pole.

From the top of the hill, the Dallas skyscrapers could be seen over the prairie of the hill.

Prairie Land and Buddy the Bison

Dallas on the Prairie

The neighborhood where the peacocks roam lies to the west of the prairie. Addresses and streets where peacocks had actually been seen by volksmarchers were marked on the map. Soon after entering the neighborhood, we heard our first peacock cry. Unfortunately that was all the evidence of peacock life we discovered until we reached the next volksmarch checkpoint.

Peacocks on the Haystacks

Peacocks on the Haystacks

Soon after leaving the peacocks, we reached the endpoint of our volksmarch. Even though we had paused to take pictures and admire the peacocks, we completed the 5k in about 1.5 hours.

It was a good day.

About scribedscribbles

Like most people, I hate filling out profile pages. Who am I? Well, I’m a wife, teacher, daughter, and friend. I’m also an intellectual, an introvert, a night owl, and a bookworm. I work with struggling readers and overachievers, ages 11 to 15. I take care of students, a cat, two rabbits, friends, and my husband. I enjoy geocaching, reading, volksmarching, gardening, crocheting for charity, lecturing, science fiction, learning, and teaching. My favorite colors are blue, green, and purple. I am judgmental, dyslexic, sweet, overweight, graying, short, generous, loving, supportive, and chronically early to meetings. I’m afraid of snakes, putting my head underwater, heights, depths, and failure.

Leave a Reply

