High Temperature: 104F

Heat Advisory: Day 2

This cemetery has been in use since the 1850s.

Cemetery Historical Marker: Trophy Club

I was supposed to be picking up a Craigslist purchase but I’d arrived early. I decided to spend some time geocaching at a nearby cemetery which held two caches

The hint said "at the end".

At the End

The first cache was located at the far end of the cemetery. I parked in a small parking lot in the center of the cemetery. The fence bordering the corner was falling down but the fence posts were still intact.

Pulling up the cache.

Pulling Out the Cache

Simply lift the fence cap to find the cache: a shotgun shell loaded with a geocaching log!

Geocache Container

Geocache Container

Yes, that's a shotgun shell!

Close Up

Before heading to the second cache which was located on the opposite end from the first cache, I spent a few minutes cooling off in the air conditioning of the car.

A statue of the girl who inspired Medlin Cemetery

Cemetery Art

I’d forgotten just how many grasshoppers live in the country. While cicadas and grasshoppers both buzz, the buzzing sounds differ. The buzz surrounded me as I tramped through the cemetery. The cicadas stayed in the trees, but the grasshoppers bounced across the paths (and me!) as they led their merry grasshopper lives.

I was afraid the cache was hidden in this mess.

Overgrown Rosebush

I was afraid the cache was located in an overgrown rosebush. I was not dressed to combat thorns. My GPS, though, kept pointing towards a nearby oak tree, an oak tree infested with some of the biggest, fattest lizards I’ve ever seen. (Have I mentioned my phobias? I’m scared silly of snakes and lizards are just snakes with legs.)

I caught a glimpse of the cache in the tree nearby.

At Eye Level

I spotted the cache hidden in the trunk of the oak, the oak protected by the leggy snakes. I stopped and thought. Then I got hot.

‘Dagnabit! I’m going to get that cache!’ I’m not sure if I just thought that or if I actually said it aloud.

I picked up a rock and threw it at the trunk of the tree. Lizards scurried farther up the tree. None fell off the tree (or on me). I picked up the rock and threw again. More scurrying. And again! Hmmmm… no scurries. It must be safe to stick my hand into the tree trunk.

I had to reach in, braving the lizards, to get the cache.

The Cache!

Thank heavens, it was safe. I didn’t brush a single lizard. No lizards dropped from overhead. I signed the log and returned it to its hiding place. Two caches, one cemetery, 30 minutes, no Craigslist purchases.

On a private note: I would not do this again. Next time I go geocaching in this kind of heat, I’m taking water with me. There was a 7-11 down the street but I was too stubborn to pay for water. I suffered from heat exhaustion later that day. Despite a cooling breeze, it was too hot to geocache without water.

About scribedscribbles

Like most people, I hate filling out profile pages. Who am I? Well, I’m a wife, teacher, daughter, and friend. I’m also an intellectual, an introvert, a night owl, and a bookworm. I work with struggling readers and overachievers, ages 11 to 15. I take care of students, a cat, two rabbits, friends, and my husband. I enjoy geocaching, reading, volksmarching, gardening, crocheting for charity, lecturing, science fiction, learning, and teaching. My favorite colors are blue, green, and purple. I am judgmental, dyslexic, sweet, overweight, graying, short, generous, loving, supportive, and chronically early to meetings. I’m afraid of snakes, putting my head underwater, heights, depths, and failure.

Leave a Reply

