This is the logo for an event cache.

Event Cache

Tonight Sweetieheart and I held our first event… and I’m still jazzed about it. It was held at a neighborhood snow cone stand which I knew had good parking and plenty of benches for seating. The stand remains open until 10PM and has snow cones for as cheap as $1. Because it was an outdoor event, one of my biggest fears was rain… or no one showing up.

Bud's is just over a mile away from home.

Bud’s Snow Cones in Bedford, TX

Today’s high was 105F. By the time the event rolled around at 7PM, the temperature had dropped to a balmy 100F.

As hosts, Sweetieheart and I thought it prudent to arrive early. Can you believe we weren’t the first ones there at 6:30?

The event began at 7PM. These people were waiting at 6:30!

Early Birds

Over a dozen people signed our logbook.

We hosted.

LaGeek and Sweetieheart

The event was inspired by a posting from a woman who lived out in the country. She had found all the local caches. The nearest unfound cache was 45 miles away. She was trying to figure out how to earn souvenirs for August under those circumstances. Many of the geocachers I know have found several thousand caches. They faced a similar dilemma: they’d cached out their immediate area. Events were their best shot without driving counties out of the way.

About scribedscribbles

Like most people, I hate filling out profile pages. Who am I? Well, I’m a wife, teacher, daughter, and friend. I’m also an intellectual, an introvert, a night owl, and a bookworm. I work with struggling readers and overachievers, ages 11 to 15. I take care of students, a cat, two rabbits, friends, and my husband. I enjoy geocaching, reading, volksmarching, gardening, crocheting for charity, lecturing, science fiction, learning, and teaching. My favorite colors are blue, green, and purple. I am judgmental, dyslexic, sweet, overweight, graying, short, generous, loving, supportive, and chronically early to meetings. I’m afraid of snakes, putting my head underwater, heights, depths, and failure.

Leave a Reply

