Sweetieheart and I were returning my mom to her home in New Mexico. The trip from Dallas is about nine hours so we had to stop several times to stretch our legs. We also had to stop because my mother had just had heart surgery and it was recommended that we stop for her sake.

Most of the time we stopped to buy food or gas. On this particular stop, though, we just needed to walk some. Sweetieheart and I needed to get some movement going. We stopped at the Childress County Courthouse.

This is the view from 287.

The Smoking Area

At the front of the courthouse is a lovely tile flag. Some of the tiles had been damaged, by my guess, by hailstones.

I hope the county can afford to fix their flag. She's lovely!

Hail Damage?

On a whim, I pulled out my iPhone and checked for nearby caches. As it turns out, there is a cache on the courthouse grounds.

Sweetieheart found the log.

Sweetieheart signs the log.

After logging the cache, we walked around, enjoying the view and the fine weather. The courthouse was built in the early 1900s. It still has a lot of fine architectural details. One of our favorites was the lamps.

I loved the details on this courthouse.

Can you see the lamp?

If you’re ever in the area, take a moment to stretch your legs. it’s a lovely walk.

This is the showstopper side. It's opposite from the highway.

Front of the Courthouse

About scribedscribbles

Like most people, I hate filling out profile pages. Who am I? Well, I’m a wife, teacher, daughter, and friend. I’m also an intellectual, an introvert, a night owl, and a bookworm. I work with struggling readers and overachievers, ages 11 to 15. I take care of students, a cat, two rabbits, friends, and my husband. I enjoy geocaching, reading, volksmarching, gardening, crocheting for charity, lecturing, science fiction, learning, and teaching. My favorite colors are blue, green, and purple. I am judgmental, dyslexic, sweet, overweight, graying, short, generous, loving, supportive, and chronically early to meetings. I’m afraid of snakes, putting my head underwater, heights, depths, and failure.

Leave a Reply

