I think this is the image for a letterboxing cache.

Letterboxing

There’s a certain allure to letterboxing. It’s almost geocaching but not quite. It’s a bit more challenging and a bit more artsy. These are some of the differences I noted today.

  1. Letterboxing began in Scotland in 1996. Geocaching began in the United States in 2001 when GPS location devices were first sold to the public.
  2. Long pants are a necessity, a safety sureguard, in letterboxing.Long pants, i.e. jeans, protect the letterboxing from thorns, poison ivy, mosquitoes, etc.
  3. Poison ivy is an even higher possibility in letterboxing.
  4. “Paces” isn’t t the most accurate measurement. One of my directions was “80 paces for a 5’6″ person.” I’m 5’3″ and I have a short pace (1’2″). I counted almost 90 paces before I found the next clue.
  5. Geosenses come in handy when letterboxing, especially when measuring by paces.
  6. I use a lined log for geocaching but need an unlined log for letterboxing.
  7. Athletic, closed toe shoes are probably also a safety necessity.
  8. Letterboxing is more likely to go off the beaten path.
  9. Letterboxing isn’t quite as well organized as geocaching.
  10. No app for letterboxing. (If there is one, please let me know!)
  11. Letterboxing isn’t for wimps. (See #16)
  12. A cache which is both a letterbox and a geocache is called a hybrid letterbox.
  13. Letterboxing is even more closely related to pirate treasure finding than geocaching. (80 paces to the south of the multitrunked tree<–actual directions given in one of the letterboxes I sought today)
  14. Letterboxing isn’t as prolific as geocaching. There aren’t as many letterboxes to find.
  15. Letterboxing doesn’t hold social events. (I may be wrong about this. Let me know if I’m wrong!)
  16. I don’t think letterboxing is getting the press that geocaching gets.
  17. I think there’s a higher probability of meeting certain native Texans (snakes and spiders) in letterboxing. I’ll let you know later. šŸ™‚
About scribedscribbles

Like most people, I hate filling out profile pages. Who am I? Well, Iā€™m a wife, teacher, daughter, and friend. Iā€™m also an intellectual, an introvert, a night owl, and a bookworm. I work with struggling readers and overachievers, ages 11 to 15. I take care of students, a cat, two rabbits, friends, and my husband. I enjoy geocaching, reading, volksmarching, gardening, crocheting for charity, lecturing, science fiction, learning, and teaching. My favorite colors are blue, green, and purple. I am judgmental, dyslexic, sweet, overweight, graying, short, generous, loving, supportive, and chronically early to meetings. Iā€™m afraid of snakes, putting my head underwater, heights, depths, and failure.

6 responses »

  1. walktx says:

    There is “Box Radar” for Android smartphones if you have one of those.

    Go to http://www.atlasquest.com/showinfo.html?eventId=2840 for information on event coming up at Huntsville State Park on March 1st.

  2. Special says:

    Yes we have gatherings. Yes we have apps (haven’t found one I like)
    Explore atlasquest.com for more info.

    • The gatherings appear sparse but I hope to attend one someday.
      I’ve been looking at atlastquest but it’s not the most user-friendly site I’ve ever found. šŸ˜¦

      Thanks for the comment!

Leave a Reply

