I belong to a book club where we watch read the book, then watch the movie based on the book. Our Christmas book was The Christmas Candle by Max Lucado.

I’d read the book. I wasn’t too impressed. Not much drama. Predictable. Sweet. I thought it would make a typical Hallmark movie.

The movie was given very limited release. The closest theater was in Hickory Creek, a town I’d never heard of. Sweetieheart and I left early in case we had a hard time finding the theater.

We did. My GPS sent me about a mile out of the way. I had to use geosenses (and the physical address) to find the theater on the other side of the hightway.

Sweetieheart and I arrived early on a bright, clear day. What, oh what, could we do to fill the time?

Geocache!

There were two caches within the parking lots of the entertainment complex. We walked to the caches, with much muttering on the part of Sweetieheart about the briskness of the day, earning one mile to my walk totals and 281 finds for my geocaching total.

FYI: The movie was good. They added a couple of scenes for some real drama. Susan Boyle’s singing was brilliant. The costumes were gorgeous. Everyone, except hardhearted Sweetieheart, cried.

About scribedscribbles

Like most people, I hate filling out profile pages. Who am I? Well, I’m a wife, teacher, daughter, and friend. I’m also an intellectual, an introvert, a night owl, and a bookworm. I work with struggling readers and overachievers, ages 11 to 15. I take care of students, a cat, two rabbits, friends, and my husband. I enjoy geocaching, reading, volksmarching, gardening, crocheting for charity, lecturing, science fiction, learning, and teaching. My favorite colors are blue, green, and purple. I am judgmental, dyslexic, sweet, overweight, graying, short, generous, loving, supportive, and chronically early to meetings. I’m afraid of snakes, putting my head underwater, heights, depths, and failure.

Leave a Reply

