Considering how cold we had just been…

And how cold we were about to get…

It wasn’t too cold to walk our first volksmarch of 2014.

I'm a member of Tarrant County Walkers, too!

I’ve joined!

The first part of the walk would have been appropriate for people in wheelchairs and with strollers. Smooth, even, wide sidewalk with easy pedestrian crossings lined the creek which was full of aggressive ducks. Once we reached the neighborhoods, the sidewalk became less even until we were back in the park area.

My First Volksmarch of 2014

My First Volksmarch of 2014

I loved the bench markers used to mark our paths in the park.

City park benches were used as waypoints to mark our trail through the park.

City park benches were used as waypoints.

Even though we live in Tarrant County, we joined the Dallas Trekkers. We attend their events so often throughout the year (although we’re quite fond of Tarrant County and Irving’s year ’round walks) that it felt right to support the group.

About scribedscribbles

Like most people, I hate filling out profile pages. Who am I? Well, I’m a wife, teacher, daughter, and friend. I’m also an intellectual, an introvert, a night owl, and a bookworm. I work with struggling readers and overachievers, ages 11 to 15. I take care of students, a cat, two rabbits, friends, and my husband. I enjoy geocaching, reading, volksmarching, gardening, crocheting for charity, lecturing, science fiction, learning, and teaching. My favorite colors are blue, green, and purple. I am judgmental, dyslexic, sweet, overweight, graying, short, generous, loving, supportive, and chronically early to meetings. I’m afraid of snakes, putting my head underwater, heights, depths, and failure.

Leave a Reply

