690127I don’t often post reviews but this one seemed appropriate for the blog.

Last weekend I had a cold. I needed some extremely light reading which wouldn’t be interrupted by kleenex use or naps. So I headed to the library to check out a book of essays, [book:This I Believe: On Love|8294290]. As I was headed to the check out counter, I passed a display of health books, saw this one, and checked it out on impulse.

Being a library book, it didn’t have the pedometer/stepcounter. (Do the librarians get to keep it?) I don’t need one; I already have one which is capable of measuring my tiny steps (I only have a 16-inch stride–too short for most pedometers).

I really didn’t need this kind of book. A couple of years I decided to incorporate walking into my exercise routine. I’ve joined the Volksmarchers at http://www.ava.org. I started geocaching as an excuse to get outdoors and walking more. I bought a pedometer and use the DailyMile app on my smartphone.

While I’m obese, I didn’t start an exercise routine for “health reasons.” I didn’t want to get thinner. I didn’t want to lose weight. I don’t equate weight with health. However, I do have a stress problem. I’ve had a couple of extremely stressful years and I didn’t like how stress was affecting me. After looking around, I decided walking in the outdoors would give me the proper headspace to destress and relax.

This book focuses on the “health benefits”: thinner, smaller, heart attacks, etc. There were only a few sentences devoted to the stress benefits–my primary focus.

I liked the inspirations quotes (they’re one of my things). I also liked the tips on how to step it up a notch. (Pun intended.) But the focus on health was a turn-off for me–I’ve heard it all from the doctors (early in a visit with the doctor) then they proceed to give me a clean bill of health with excellent/optimal marks in cholesterol, oxygen, etc. I can’t rate the pedometer.

About scribedscribbles

Like most people, I hate filling out profile pages. Who am I? Well, I’m a wife, teacher, daughter, and friend. I’m also an intellectual, an introvert, a night owl, and a bookworm. I work with struggling readers and overachievers, ages 11 to 15. I take care of students, a cat, two rabbits, friends, and my husband. I enjoy geocaching, reading, volksmarching, gardening, crocheting for charity, lecturing, science fiction, learning, and teaching. My favorite colors are blue, green, and purple. I am judgmental, dyslexic, sweet, overweight, graying, short, generous, loving, supportive, and chronically early to meetings. I’m afraid of snakes, putting my head underwater, heights, depths, and failure.

Leave a Reply

