Cedar Ridge may be the most challenging YRE in Texas because of the narrow trails and steep ups-and-downs.  Bring walking sticks and water.

–H. Hull

I wish I’d known this before Victor and I attempted Cedar Ridge.

Maybe I’d gotten cocky. We’d walked the Irish Streets 5k and finished it feeling energetic, not worn out as we used to when we first began volksmarching.

Maybe it was peer pressure. We’d participated in one of the Dallas Trekkers Social Hours. If all these Dallas Trekkers were going to hike (I really should have paid attention to the verb; I’m a walker,not a hiker) Cedar Ridge, surely I could/should hike it, too.

In any case, it was early morning (the crack of 11AM) and Victor and I were at the Cedar Ridge Nature Preserve to hike.

Image

We’re here!

I was even feeling confident enough to think we’d attempt the 10k for the first time ever. The Dallas Trekkers were going to hike the 10k and I was an official Dallas Trekker. But… we couldn’t find our group.

We were late (as usual) and they took off without us. Victor and I looked around at the many toddlers and elderly toddling the trails and decided we could do it on our own. Sure, many were carrying hiking sticks and we had none. Sure, many carried water and we’d forgotten our water bottles. After all, there were also many running these trails. How rough could it be if there were joggers on the trails.

Image

Trail Sign

There were many trails to follow. We selected the Bluebonnet Trail because the Dallas Trekkers were supposed to be seeking bluebonnets.

Image

It may not be a bluebonnet but it’s blooming!

I ignored the sign about snakes. I was sure I’d only see tree roots and I didn’t want to scare myself too badly.

We met some nice dogs on the trail. We met some nice people, including a couple who were training for a hike with their teenage grandsons over the summer. We did not meet any snakes.

Image

The lake is a pond, but there were still ducks to see!

I swear that trail had more ups than downs. I’m not 100% sure we stayed on the trails the whole time. I wish we’d brought hiking sticks and water.

Image

Bluebonnets and Cacti

I’m grateful for the clear skies and cool breezes of the day. I’m grateful for my walking and geocaching companion, Victor. And I’m grateful I have the health to enjoy geocaching, volksmarching, and Mother Nature.

Image

Bluebonnets on the Trail

About scribedscribbles

Like most people, I hate filling out profile pages. Who am I? Well, I’m a wife, teacher, daughter, and friend. I’m also an intellectual, an introvert, a night owl, and a bookworm. I work with struggling readers and overachievers, ages 11 to 15. I take care of students, a cat, two rabbits, friends, and my husband. I enjoy geocaching, reading, volksmarching, gardening, crocheting for charity, lecturing, science fiction, learning, and teaching. My favorite colors are blue, green, and purple. I am judgmental, dyslexic, sweet, overweight, graying, short, generous, loving, supportive, and chronically early to meetings. I’m afraid of snakes, putting my head underwater, heights, depths, and failure.

Leave a Reply

