The GEAR Pedometer

The Best Pedometer I Have Used

I received this pedometer when I participated in a study researching geocaching and health and fitness. I was one of the few in SWAG (South Arlington Area Geocachers) who liked the pedometer we received. Others complained it was too sensitive, a feature I treasure.

I have a short stride (about 14 inches) and I overpronate. Most pedometers are unable to measure my steps with accuracy. This one did! I walked around the school, counting my steps. When I checked the pedometer, the number matched.

Devices which depend on GPS to measure distance don’t work when I’m in the classroom. While I may be walking around a lot, the distance I travel in the room is quite short. I can cross the room in only 11 steps while dodging desks and student paraphernalia. On testing days I prefer to use an old-fashioned pedometer.

I’m not a techno-geek. Too many buttons scare me. This has one friendly orange button for everything.

I have looked for pedometers by the same maker with no luck. It’s made out of hard plastic which means it will soon become brittle and break. I have the feeling it’s a cheap brand; maybe it only sells in bulk.

The Interior

Just One Button

About scribedscribbles

Like most people, I hate filling out profile pages. Who am I? Well, I’m a wife, teacher, daughter, and friend. I’m also an intellectual, an introvert, a night owl, and a bookworm. I work with struggling readers and overachievers, ages 11 to 15. I take care of students, a cat, two rabbits, friends, and my husband. I enjoy geocaching, reading, volksmarching, gardening, crocheting for charity, lecturing, science fiction, learning, and teaching. My favorite colors are blue, green, and purple. I am judgmental, dyslexic, sweet, overweight, graying, short, generous, loving, supportive, and chronically early to meetings. I’m afraid of snakes, putting my head underwater, heights, depths, and failure.

Leave a Reply

