This is the third year I have participated in the IditaWalk. From February 1st to March 31st, I promise to walk for at least 30 minutes a day for a minimum of 1034 minutes, matching the distance of the Iditarod, 1034 miles.

The IditaWalk benefits Bronson Camp in Nome, Alaska, but it also benefits me. Iditawalk 2012 is the challenge which helped me achieve my second fitness goal that I had ever set in my life. The first fitness goal I ever set was back in high school when I wanted to lose weight for my senior pictures. I lost 30 pounds and kept it off until I began working as a teacher. The stress and time required of teachers was too much and I gained 60 pounds my first two years of teaching.

Last year my fitness goal was to complete the IditaWalk as quickly as possible. This year I’m not into speed. I’m into stress reduction.

And I will complete the IditaWalk 2015!

About scribedscribbles

Like most people, I hate filling out profile pages. Who am I? Well, I’m a wife, teacher, daughter, and friend. I’m also an intellectual, an introvert, a night owl, and a bookworm. I work with struggling readers and overachievers, ages 11 to 15. I take care of students, a cat, two rabbits, friends, and my husband. I enjoy geocaching, reading, volksmarching, gardening, crocheting for charity, lecturing, science fiction, learning, and teaching. My favorite colors are blue, green, and purple. I am judgmental, dyslexic, sweet, overweight, graying, short, generous, loving, supportive, and chronically early to meetings. I’m afraid of snakes, putting my head underwater, heights, depths, and failure.

One response »

  1. […] I also like that, in addition to counting steps, the Fitbit will monitor my active minutes. I use those minutes while I’m competing in the IditaWalk. […]

Leave a Reply

