Less than a week until school begins. How should I celebrate? By re-walking my original first walk.

I don’t remember how I found out about volksmarching. I don’t remember how I found out about this particular volksmarch. I do remember Sweetie and I being totally lost and some kind folks at the Starbucks walking us through the steps to walk a volksmarch.

I grew up in citrus country. As a result, I can't stand most bottled OJ. Except this one.

Fueling Up

Four years later, we can fill out the paperwork on our own. We’re also much better at reading the directions than we used to be. We have an official walking backpack with all the gear we normally need: sun and bug repellant, a hand towel, spare pens, band-aids, snack bars, and water.

This walk was memorable for several reasons.

  1. We encountered our first Little Free Library. As a reading teacher, I’d heard of them but I’d never seen one before.
  2. I had my first sports injury. I pulled a tendon and was on a cane for several weeks. (A very dramatic injury for the first weeks of school.)
  3. Less than a month later, the Starbucks management decided that they would no longer host the walk box. I hope it wasn’t because of anything we did!

Thanks, Lake Highlands, for hosting us for so long! Thanks for starting us on the walking path!

Little Free Libraies are run by readers for readers.

My First Little Free Library

About scribedscribbles

Like most people, I hate filling out profile pages. Who am I? Well, I’m a wife, teacher, daughter, and friend. I’m also an intellectual, an introvert, a night owl, and a bookworm. I work with struggling readers and overachievers, ages 11 to 15. I take care of students, a cat, two rabbits, friends, and my husband. I enjoy geocaching, reading, volksmarching, gardening, crocheting for charity, lecturing, science fiction, learning, and teaching. My favorite colors are blue, green, and purple. I am judgmental, dyslexic, sweet, overweight, graying, short, generous, loving, supportive, and chronically early to meetings. I’m afraid of snakes, putting my head underwater, heights, depths, and failure.

Leave a Reply

