It was Spring Break and I had a day to myself. The weatherman had forecast a soggy day so Mother Nature brought sunshine and temps in the 70s. The Downtown Fort Worth is a safe walk for a woman alone.

The start is at the Sheraton Hotel in downtown Fort Worth. It sits across the street from the Water Gardens.

This lies along the sidewalk to the street next to the hotel driveway.

Fort Worth isn’t known as Cowtown for nothing. The Chisolm Trail passed through Fort Worth.

Remarkably cooling in summer!

Science fiction fans will recognize the Fort Worth Water Gardens from “Logan’s Run,” a dystopian movie from the 1976.

This building is reputed to be haunted.

If you enjoy historic buildings, be sure to check out the T&P Station. It’s now fully restored. Occasionally, you can even get a look inside, especially if they’re preparing for an event.

The unique shape of this building is reflected in the unique decorative touches.

Fort Worth is also known as Panther City. Keep an eye out for panthers while walking!

I think this looks like my cat.

Keep an eye out, too, for some interesting city art.

This kind of art makes me quite aware I know nothing about art.

One of my favorite pieces!

Another favorite piece

You’ll pass historic buildings.

It's got real, live firemen inside!

Check out the doors!

I also learned that I’m shrinking. All my life, my doctors have told me I’m almost 5’3″. Fort Worth taught me otherwise.

I should have brushed this sign with the top of my head.

Do I need to talk to my doctor?

It’s a fun walk but be careful around lunchtime and rush hour. The traffic can get dangerous to pedestrians.

About scribedscribbles

Like most people, I hate filling out profile pages. Who am I? Well, I’m a wife, teacher, daughter, and friend. I’m also an intellectual, an introvert, a night owl, and a bookworm. I work with struggling readers and overachievers, ages 11 to 15. I take care of students, a cat, two rabbits, friends, and my husband. I enjoy geocaching, reading, volksmarching, gardening, crocheting for charity, lecturing, science fiction, learning, and teaching. My favorite colors are blue, green, and purple. I am judgmental, dyslexic, sweet, overweight, graying, short, generous, loving, supportive, and chronically early to meetings. I’m afraid of snakes, putting my head underwater, heights, depths, and failure.

Leave a Reply

