This morning I walked the mall. Don’t hate! It reached 104F in DFW with an ozone alert. Mall walking makes a lot of (health) sense. As I walked, I had some realizations.

  • I’m able to walk farther than I have been able to since I was a kid.
  • I’m walking faster than I used to walk.

When I first began walking, I was lucky to walk two miles a day. (I think I actually began with a goal of 1/5 miles three times a week). I used to walk a 5k and pass out for the rest of the weekend. I could walk 10,000 steps and barely make three miles. June-July 2015,while I was in Washington, I had my first (documented) 25,000 step day. I walked a couple of seven-mile days. I even had one day with 11 miles of walking! And today I walked the mall. I’m about where I’m supposed to be (10,000 steps = five miles). In the mall, I can walk a 17-minute mile. These mark accomplishments. I’m only 5’3″. My strides are naturally shorter than an average person’s stride. I’m proud of myself. I paid less than $75 at Best Buy.

About scribedscribbles

Like most people, I hate filling out profile pages. Who am I? Well, I’m a wife, teacher, daughter, and friend. I’m also an intellectual, an introvert, a night owl, and a bookworm. I work with struggling readers and overachievers, ages 11 to 15. I take care of students, a cat, two rabbits, friends, and my husband. I enjoy geocaching, reading, volksmarching, gardening, crocheting for charity, lecturing, science fiction, learning, and teaching. My favorite colors are blue, green, and purple. I am judgmental, dyslexic, sweet, overweight, graying, short, generous, loving, supportive, and chronically early to meetings. I’m afraid of snakes, putting my head underwater, heights, depths, and failure.

Leave a Reply

