One year ago, I bought a Fitbit. A friend had one and told me about it. I researched and found the cheapest one, the Fitbit Zip, at Best Buy.

I paid less than $75 at Best Buy.

My Fitbit One

Mine is pink. I attach it to my bra. (TMI?) I’ve had friends who say that they lost their Fitbits in the laundry so I bought a color which would stand out.

My favorite feature is probably that it let me know (via email) when it is low on battery. It has been known to throw false negatives, usually when I’m wearing extra thick sweaters or multiple layers of clothing.

I also like that, in addition to counting steps, the Fitbit will monitor my active minutes. I use those minutes while I’m competing in the IditaWalk.

The online tool allows me to keep track of several things: heart rate, sleeping, journals, etc. Food and water intake are interesting but I have a problem with food diary programs: we eat at home a lot. Tonight, for example, we had baked chicken thighs, roasted potatoes, and kernal corn. I have no idea how many calories are in that and, at this stage in my health plan, I’m not interested in learning.

My Fitbit is synced to the free app on my iPhone and iPad. Synchronizing is tricky at times and Bluetooth must be activated in order for the synchronization to occur. Each synchronization goes straight to my Fitbit account which awards badges for distances walked and personal records (nine miles in a single day is my record).

I’ve participated in several Fitbit challenges with my Fitbit friends. I have no idea who some of these people are but we challenge ourselves to improve and we’re able to message each other encouraging words.

I love my Fitbit.

About scribedscribbles

Like most people, I hate filling out profile pages. Who am I? Well, I’m a wife, teacher, daughter, and friend. I’m also an intellectual, an introvert, a night owl, and a bookworm. I work with struggling readers and overachievers, ages 11 to 15. I take care of students, a cat, two rabbits, friends, and my husband. I enjoy geocaching, reading, volksmarching, gardening, crocheting for charity, lecturing, science fiction, learning, and teaching. My favorite colors are blue, green, and purple. I am judgmental, dyslexic, sweet, overweight, graying, short, generous, loving, supportive, and chronically early to meetings. I’m afraid of snakes, putting my head underwater, heights, depths, and failure.

Leave a Reply

