Sweetie and I have been in training for our trip to Washington, DC, for months. We have walked 10k and 5k treks for months now. We were up to 5 miles a day. We were ready for the challenges offered by DC.

My kitty thinks she can beat a lion. She's seen them on TV. Lions aren't that big.

The short walk (5k) offers a chance at see the National Zoo (from the outside). The long walk includes many embassies and a chance to see the National Cathedral (10k). It begins at a McDonald’s near a Metro station (the best way to get around DC). And, somehow, the long walk manages to be all uphill!.

See the bison in the poster? That's not Buddy.

It passes through some historical and yuppie neighborhoods. It deliberately takes the walkers past several embassies. (The Chinese embassy was the scariest with its armed guards.) Did I mention it’s all uphill?

By the time we made it to the National Cathedral, we were worn out. Sweetieheart had enough energy to hunt for the infamous Darth Vader gargoyle. He never found it. I think it was covered by scaffolding; the National Cathedral is still being repaired after the 2011 earthquake.

We hunted for Darth Vader for about 30 minutes.

We were worn out! But then the magic happened. Right next to the Washington National Cathedral is a bit of parkland which is some of the only old growth forest left in DC. Two cottontails led the way.

The bunnies disappeared before I could photograph them.

From the Cathedral, we were led into a historic neighborhood which featured several Victorian homes.

IMG_3003

Admiral Peary‘s former house featured a Free Library!

This was placed right in front of the Peary home.

And somehow, the end of the walk was still uphill. We were exhausted and triumphant over all the sights we’d managed to see. We probably wouldn’t have seen 90% of them if it hadn’t been for the AVA.

About scribedscribbles

Like most people, I hate filling out profile pages. Who am I? Well, I’m a wife, teacher, daughter, and friend. I’m also an intellectual, an introvert, a night owl, and a bookworm. I work with struggling readers and overachievers, ages 11 to 15. I take care of students, a cat, two rabbits, friends, and my husband. I enjoy geocaching, reading, volksmarching, gardening, crocheting for charity, lecturing, science fiction, learning, and teaching. My favorite colors are blue, green, and purple. I am judgmental, dyslexic, sweet, overweight, graying, short, generous, loving, supportive, and chronically early to meetings. I’m afraid of snakes, putting my head underwater, heights, depths, and failure.

Leave a Reply

