Symbol for the Virtual, or Ghost, Cache

I was looking to score new states, not to raise my number of finds (which is good because I really didn’t geocache much this summer–I’ve begun looking at quality rather than quantity).

Sweetieheart and I were in Washington, DC, for the fourth of July. On the third we decided to do the National Mall volksmarch. It was a good walk but we’d already seen most of the sites on previous tours. (We did get to see the Martin Luther King, Jr. Memorial which hadn’t been open the last time we’d been in DC.)

MLK and I share the same birthday.

As we walked, I’d occasionally look for a geoache. However, the many muggles kept us from making the attempt. Too many people hang around the National Mall on July 3rd!

Then we discovered a little memorial dedicated to George Mason. It was rather neglected with grass growing where it shouldn’t and the flowerbed appeared a bit dry. It also contained a nice bench to sit and enjoy the day and the view. Finally, it contained a geocache… one which wasn’t bothered by muggles.

I wish more people would visit this lovely little memorial. It’s just across the street from the cherry trees. It’s truly a lovely place.

The man who wrote the Virginia Bill of Rights deserves more recognition.

About scribedscribbles

Like most people, I hate filling out profile pages. Who am I? Well, I’m a wife, teacher, daughter, and friend. I’m also an intellectual, an introvert, a night owl, and a bookworm. I work with struggling readers and overachievers, ages 11 to 15. I take care of students, a cat, two rabbits, friends, and my husband. I enjoy geocaching, reading, volksmarching, gardening, crocheting for charity, lecturing, science fiction, learning, and teaching. My favorite colors are blue, green, and purple. I am judgmental, dyslexic, sweet, overweight, graying, short, generous, loving, supportive, and chronically early to meetings. I’m afraid of snakes, putting my head underwater, heights, depths, and failure.

Leave a Reply

