A few weeks ago, I was working on my usual Halloween reading: ghost stories of Texas. I love ghost stories and I know many of the local ones. However, in Paranormal Texas, I found a tale I hadn’t heard of before and it was located just a few miles from my home!

Sweetieheart looks over the sign at the entry.

Crystal Canyon is being preserved as a natural area for its geology in the hills of Arlington. It’s a half-mile walk around on a nice trail lined with benches and informative signs. It’s also one of the newest parks in Arlington, having opened in 2012.

As a preserved natural area, there are no geocaches permitted within the park. However, there are a couple just outside the park.

The walk is appropriate for children, strollers, and pets (pick up after your pet!), as well as joggers and walkers. Water is located at the entry/exit to the park. The trail loops around a wooded area with plenty of shade which means it could be walked throughout the year with extra caution during the hottest parts of the year.. Warning signs include snakes (Duh! It’s the Metroplex!) and poison ivy (Gotta love Texas!) and scorpions (Closed-toe shoes recommended).

There were signs of fireworks and people who left the trail, but overall, the park was clean with little trash.

Carvings in Sandstone

I’d like to figure out a earthcache for the park because it deserves to be visited more often. It’s a lovely gem.

About scribedscribbles

Like most people, I hate filling out profile pages. Who am I? Well, I’m a wife, teacher, daughter, and friend. I’m also an intellectual, an introvert, a night owl, and a bookworm. I work with struggling readers and overachievers, ages 11 to 15. I take care of students, a cat, two rabbits, friends, and my husband. I enjoy geocaching, reading, volksmarching, gardening, crocheting for charity, lecturing, science fiction, learning, and teaching. My favorite colors are blue, green, and purple. I am judgmental, dyslexic, sweet, overweight, graying, short, generous, loving, supportive, and chronically early to meetings. I’m afraid of snakes, putting my head underwater, heights, depths, and failure.

Leave a Reply

