2016 marks 180 years of Texas Independence which was celebrated at Washington-on-the-Brazos State Park. Sweetieheart and I made the three-hour drive with a brief stop at the CzechStop to pick up some kolaches.

It was a glorious day: temps in the 70s, light breeze, sunny sky with puffy clouds. Reenactors wandered freely. Reenactments. Music. Food. Everything I could ask for on the first day of Spring Break.

Sweetieheart meets one of the composers of Texas Independence.

Sweetieheart meets a Kodak moment

We found our first geocache accidentally. It was a Kodak moment and we took advantage of it.

We also found our second geocache accidentally. We were visiting the reenactors’ village when I decided to turn on the geocaching app to find the location of the nearest geocache. It was 140 feet away!

We found our third geocache on purpose. We were circling the zone and I’d already spotted the cache when this couple strode boldly right up to our tree! I cried out, “Hey! No fair! We spotted it first!”

The response? “Oh, are you cachers? We’re new. What are we supposed to do?”

They were absolutely new to the game. They had downloaded the introduction to geocaching app and decided to come to the park to try it out. They had no idea that the park was celebrating Texas Independence. They had no idea of what to do with a cache once it was found.

They were from Katy, TX

Sweetieheart showed them how to fill out the log. Then he showed them what was in the cache. Then we showed them how to log a find on the app.

They'd spotted the cache but didn't recognize it as a cache.

We saw them later circling another cache and we caught up with them at a third cache. The intro app limits the number of caches they can find. I hope they enjoyed the game.

We, on the other hand, felt the day was perfect, from beginning to end. Happy trails!

About scribedscribbles

Like most people, I hate filling out profile pages. Who am I? Well, I’m a wife, teacher, daughter, and friend. I’m also an intellectual, an introvert, a night owl, and a bookworm. I work with struggling readers and overachievers, ages 11 to 15. I take care of students, a cat, two rabbits, friends, and my husband. I enjoy geocaching, reading, volksmarching, gardening, crocheting for charity, lecturing, science fiction, learning, and teaching. My favorite colors are blue, green, and purple. I am judgmental, dyslexic, sweet, overweight, graying, short, generous, loving, supportive, and chronically early to meetings. I’m afraid of snakes, putting my head underwater, heights, depths, and failure.

Leave a Reply

