2016 has been a rough year on Sweetie and me. The weather has been perfect for growing allergies leading us both to some bad bouts with sinusitis. Most of our walking has been indoors at Grapevine Mills Mall. One fine weekend, though, we risked headaches, sneezing, and wheezing to walk along White Rock Lake.

Bikers, joggers, and strollers all share the trail around White Rock Lake.

It was a beautiful day, drawing out the bikers, strollers, skaters, runners, dog walker, and joggers. The ducks were active on the lake with a nice breeze coming up from the south.

Duck on the lake.

Spring had begun blooming.

Someone planted this flower!

Most people paid attention to the signs. (I always read the signs, even if I don’t always follow them.)

Follow the rules of the trail!

In the 20+ years I have lived in Dallas, this was the first time I’d ever been to this end of White Rock Lake. Sweetie and I spent some time admiring the rush of water from the recent spring rains.

Just like on the news, the falls are wonderful to watch

I hadn’t even realized that there were more than one set of falls! Nor had I known that there had been a fish hatchery in this area.

The second set of waterfalls.

I really like this bike fix-it station.

The bike fix-it station was totally cool, especially with the tools and air pumps!

This is the quiet side of the falls.

Bird calls abound.

I ended up learning quite a bit on this 10k walk.

My 2016 resolution: walk all around White Rock Lake!

 

About scribedscribbles

Like most people, I hate filling out profile pages. Who am I? Well, I’m a wife, teacher, daughter, and friend. I’m also an intellectual, an introvert, a night owl, and a bookworm. I work with struggling readers and overachievers, ages 11 to 15. I take care of students, a cat, two rabbits, friends, and my husband. I enjoy geocaching, reading, volksmarching, gardening, crocheting for charity, lecturing, science fiction, learning, and teaching. My favorite colors are blue, green, and purple. I am judgmental, dyslexic, sweet, overweight, graying, short, generous, loving, supportive, and chronically early to meetings. I’m afraid of snakes, putting my head underwater, heights, depths, and failure.

Leave a Reply

