I’m hosting a geocaching social event!

SWAG (South West Arlington Geocachers) is headed by my friend Donna, TexasDiva, who I first met in college. It’s strange where life takes us. I only knew Donna by sight because we lived in the same dorm for a year, then she graduated and I spend the next three years working on graduating.

Many years later (okay, decades later!), I discovered geocaching and I learned about geocaching social events. I dragged my husband to our first event in Arlington. On the other side of the room, I saw someone who looked very, very vaguely familiar. I asked a neighbor who she was and I was told that she was TexasDiva. No one could remember her real name.

She stood up to introduce herself and the rest of the SWAGgers. I recognized the name…. but from where? After the event, I made my way to her and asked her where I knew her from. She confirmed that we’d gone to the same college. Later we realized we’d lived in the same dorm.

Since then, SWAG has really grown. I don’t often make it over to their events because I work in Carrollton and they meet on Wednesdays in Arlington, a geographically difficult trip to make in a timely and safe manner. I try to make at least one event each summer with another event some time of the year.

This year I’ll be hosting an event.

Where? The No Frills Grill in Arlington, TX

When? June 29th from 5:30-8PM

What can I expect? To meet a lot of friendly geocachers

Event Information: SWAG Retreat from the Heat

About scribedscribbles

Like most people, I hate filling out profile pages. Who am I? Well, I’m a wife, teacher, daughter, and friend. I’m also an intellectual, an introvert, a night owl, and a bookworm. I work with struggling readers and overachievers, ages 11 to 15. I take care of students, a cat, two rabbits, friends, and my husband. I enjoy geocaching, reading, volksmarching, gardening, crocheting for charity, lecturing, science fiction, learning, and teaching. My favorite colors are blue, green, and purple. I am judgmental, dyslexic, sweet, overweight, graying, short, generous, loving, supportive, and chronically early to meetings. I’m afraid of snakes, putting my head underwater, heights, depths, and failure.

Leave a Reply

