I was on a mission.

The last time I had visited Mount Capulin, I was unprepared. I didn’t eat breakfast. I hadn’t been walking much. I brought my mother who had been experiencing heart problems. I was not ready and I was unable to walk the rim or the crater. I was starving. (I’d forgotten that there was little fast food or even convenience food in this corner of the state.) I was out of breath from the change in altitude. I was out of shape.

This time I was prepared. We’d stopped off at the Subway in Clayton and picked up some sandwiches after eating a hearty breakfast. I have been walking 10ks for almost a year. I left my mom at home. I’d brought a hat and sunblock. We had a full jug of water. We brought snacks. We were regular volksmarchers and we had the volksmarching instructions for the Mount Capulin Walk.

When Sweetie and I first arrived at the Visitor’s Center, we were annoyed to discover that the volcano was closed. Then we learned the utterly cool reason: there had been a landslide. The rangers were clearing the road of the debris. We opted to begin with the vent trail then tackle the rest of the trail if/when the roads were cleared.

It was too much for Sweetie. After hiking the rim, he was unable to walk the crater. I went down by myself. I felt triumphant: Sweetie is 14 years younger than I and I’d outwalked him and I’d walked Capulin.

Yay, me!

 

 

About scribedscribbles

Like most people, I hate filling out profile pages. Who am I? Well, I’m a wife, teacher, daughter, and friend. I’m also an intellectual, an introvert, a night owl, and a bookworm. I work with struggling readers and overachievers, ages 11 to 15. I take care of students, a cat, two rabbits, friends, and my husband. I enjoy geocaching, reading, volksmarching, gardening, crocheting for charity, lecturing, science fiction, learning, and teaching. My favorite colors are blue, green, and purple. I am judgmental, dyslexic, sweet, overweight, graying, short, generous, loving, supportive, and chronically early to meetings. I’m afraid of snakes, putting my head underwater, heights, depths, and failure.

Leave a Reply

