Walking Granbury was just a bad idea. It was forecast to be over 100 degrees for each day of the weekend. I had recently been diagnosed with shingles. My husband was unable to accompany us because of a sick cat. But I wanted something fun. School had just started and I already needed a break.

When we arrived, we checked into the hotel. We left the hotel lobby to move our car and it wouldn’t start. As it turns out, the battery was dead. Dealing with the dead battery, we missed the evening walk.

The next day, I determined, was going to be different. We walked the historic Granbury walk after listening to some morning griping from other walkers at the hotel. After a well-earned rest, we visited our favorite restaurant, Babe’s, where I had some of the best catfish I’ve ever had at a restaurant. That evening, Sweetie and I went on the Granbury Ghost Tour, a fun tour for the spooky-minded.

The next day, we visited the Lake Granbury Beach (although I wasn’t allowed into the water–shingles are really contagious!) then visited some geocaches.

I’ll be returning. I like the area.

About scribedscribbles

Like most people, I hate filling out profile pages. Who am I? Well, I’m a wife, teacher, daughter, and friend. I’m also an intellectual, an introvert, a night owl, and a bookworm. I work with struggling readers and overachievers, ages 11 to 15. I take care of students, a cat, two rabbits, friends, and my husband. I enjoy geocaching, reading, volksmarching, gardening, crocheting for charity, lecturing, science fiction, learning, and teaching. My favorite colors are blue, green, and purple. I am judgmental, dyslexic, sweet, overweight, graying, short, generous, loving, supportive, and chronically early to meetings. I’m afraid of snakes, putting my head underwater, heights, depths, and failure.

Leave a Reply

