Symbol for an EarthCache

EarthCache

I love dinosaurs. I’ve never outgrown my fascination with fossils (and rocks in general) so I was enthralled to learn that Texas would have a national park based on finds made in Waco.

On July 10, 2015, President Barack Obama designated the Waco site as a national monument. On July 9, 2016, Sweetie and I went to explore the site, celebrate the monument’s birthday, and find an earthcache.

Normally, visiting an outdoor park in July is an exercise in cooling but we had an abnormally cool July. It would only be in the low 90s so we set off bright and early. We were the first car at the entrance (although there must have been another entrance because we were nowhere near the first car in the parking lot).

There’s a small visitor center and gift shop. There’s a short trail which is mostly shaded although you should be on allergy medication if you’re like me with allergies. There are several opportunities for wildlife watching and viewing of native flora. The bone/fossil site is air conditioned.

Huge hint: There’s an earthcache here! Pay attention to your ranger guide and you can find it easily.

img_3840

LaGeek at Texas’ newest national state park

 

About scribedscribbles

Like most people, I hate filling out profile pages. Who am I? Well, I’m a wife, teacher, daughter, and friend. I’m also an intellectual, an introvert, a night owl, and a bookworm. I work with struggling readers and overachievers, ages 11 to 15. I take care of students, a cat, two rabbits, friends, and my husband. I enjoy geocaching, reading, volksmarching, gardening, crocheting for charity, lecturing, science fiction, learning, and teaching. My favorite colors are blue, green, and purple. I am judgmental, dyslexic, sweet, overweight, graying, short, generous, loving, supportive, and chronically early to meetings. I’m afraid of snakes, putting my head underwater, heights, depths, and failure.

Leave a Reply

